recover file from "My Document" backup

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Bigdog999, Sep 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bigdog999

    Bigdog999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I'm trying to recover a file from a backup archive that was in the "My Documents" directory. Whenever I restore it, it shows up as a series of the original folders and I can't get access to the file. Any ideas?
     
  2. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    Bigdog

    Are you trying to access the documents through the same user account that created them? It may simply be that the user account that you are using does not have permission to access the files.

    If possible, it would be helpful if you could attach a few sceenshots of the problem when you reply.
     
  3. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    Was the backup archive an image of your C: drive\partition? If so you can mount this image as a virtual drive. Then you can drag & drop the desired file from the virtual drive to your real drive, right-clicking on the file and choosing Copy.
     
  4. Bigdog999

    Bigdog999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I've tried mounting the file as a virtual drive, but I'm still unable to access the files in this directory. It says the folder is empty. If I try to restore it, it does show up, but it restores it where I can't access past a certain point. Did it not back it up or is it the permission thing. . I'm thinking the permission thing may be correct, but if I'm the originator, why don't I have permission?
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2006
  5. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318

    It is all about ownership and permissions.

    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=308421

    Xpilot
     
  6. Bigdog999

    Bigdog999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks, XPilot and others,
    The permission thing did it. I apparently have both an Administator and myself as User Accounts. Although I have administrative rights, it doesn't always give me full rights.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.