Recommended Spyware/Malware Program

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by AsH_, Feb 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AsH_

    AsH_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Anyone got a link to a good cleaner? :p
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,079
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
  3. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
  4. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    Ad-aware, spybot search and destroy, spyware guard, spyware blaster.

    Jimbob
     
  5. AsH_

    AsH_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Thanks Blue :D

    It didn't do anything but I found a lot of junk. Now, everytime I boot up, it keeps coming up with a dialog screen saying "Please select your Operating System to start:" every time I restart. I select it and press ENTER and it just keeps coming back up everytime I start.

    I done everything in that General Removal Instructions nothing helped. Any more programs that you can suggest? My comp is just too slow and so is my net. I think I might have changed the TCP/IP Settings with an Optimizer or something I don't know. I am just so annoyed it's gone slow all of a sudden o_O
     
  6. AsH_

    AsH_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Hmm Spyware Blaster ;)

    A link to it :D
     
  7. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Is there anything else coming up with this? What OS are you running? It's been a while since I've been on anything aside from XP. If you are running XP, and go through the sequence Start>Settings>Control Panel>System>Advanced. Hit the settings under Startup and Recovery. Select Edit, what does the boot loader read as? Are there multiple entries showing? Note - don't edit anything yet.

    Blue
     
  8. AsH_

    AsH_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Thankyou so much for your help :D

    OK. My OS is indeed Windows XP ( the best ) :p

    My boot log:
    [boot loader]
    timeout=3
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect
    C:\CMDCONS\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows Recovery Console" /cmdcons
     
  9. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    ~Edit:....removed incorrect comments....Bubba~

    It was contained in the link Blue provided to you in his above post.

    Direct link also---> Javacool Software
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2005
  10. AsH_

    AsH_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    OMG. MY GRAPHICS IS STUFFED wtf :|

    I restarted, look at my desktop now :/
     

    Attached Files:

  11. AsH_

    AsH_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    OK I fixed the Graphics Problem :D Scared me for a bit. I updated my GFX Card and it changed all the settings Lol but I changed them and it's all ok now :p

    But, I still keep getting that Startup Error :/

    Bubba, is this safe?

    [boot loader]
    timeout=3
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect
    C:\CMDCONS\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows Recovery Console" /cmdcons

    What you told me to change? Is it safe and will it probably fix it? :p
     
  12. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Actually no....and I was re-reading what I posted for clarity\correction when you posted. I need to not post on first cup of coffee when brain cells aren't up to snuff :(
    Sorry for the mis-information....I have now removed my mistake.

    Regards,
    Bubba
     
  13. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,435
    Location:
    Netherlands
    You can find what all the mumbo jumbo means here: http://www.microsoft.com/resources/...Windows/XP/all/reskit/en-us/prmc_str_masc.asp

    Can you click Start > Run > type (or copy&paste) msconfig > OK

    Then click on the boot.ini tab and check if all the paths are valid.
    (I think it counts the one put there by the recovery console as a boot option)

    If that is true it should look like this:

    But please check as described before if the paths are all valid before you change anything.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  14. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2005
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.