Recommended Spyware/Malware Program

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by AsH_, Feb 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AsH_

    AsH_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Anyone got a link to a good cleaner? :p
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
  3. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
  4. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    Ad-aware, spybot search and destroy, spyware guard, spyware blaster.

    Jimbob
     
  5. AsH_

    AsH_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Thanks Blue :D

    It didn't do anything but I found a lot of junk. Now, everytime I boot up, it keeps coming up with a dialog screen saying "Please select your Operating System to start:" every time I restart. I select it and press ENTER and it just keeps coming back up everytime I start.

    I done everything in that General Removal Instructions nothing helped. Any more programs that you can suggest? My comp is just too slow and so is my net. I think I might have changed the TCP/IP Settings with an Optimizer or something I don't know. I am just so annoyed it's gone slow all of a sudden o_O
     
  6. AsH_

    AsH_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Hmm Spyware Blaster ;)

    A link to it :D
     
  7. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Is there anything else coming up with this? What OS are you running? It's been a while since I've been on anything aside from XP. If you are running XP, and go through the sequence Start>Settings>Control Panel>System>Advanced. Hit the settings under Startup and Recovery. Select Edit, what does the boot loader read as? Are there multiple entries showing? Note - don't edit anything yet.

    Blue
     
  8. AsH_

    AsH_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Thankyou so much for your help :D

    OK. My OS is indeed Windows XP ( the best ) :p

    My boot log:
    [boot loader]
    timeout=3
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect
    C:\CMDCONS\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows Recovery Console" /cmdcons
     
  9. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    ~Edit:....removed incorrect comments....Bubba~

    It was contained in the link Blue provided to you in his above post.

    Direct link also---> Javacool Software
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2005
  10. AsH_

    AsH_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    OMG. MY GRAPHICS IS STUFFED wtf :|

    I restarted, look at my desktop now :/
     

    Attached Files:

  11. AsH_

    AsH_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    OK I fixed the Graphics Problem :D Scared me for a bit. I updated my GFX Card and it changed all the settings Lol but I changed them and it's all ok now :p

    But, I still keep getting that Startup Error :/

    Bubba, is this safe?

    [boot loader]
    timeout=3
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect
    C:\CMDCONS\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows Recovery Console" /cmdcons

    What you told me to change? Is it safe and will it probably fix it? :p
     
  12. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Actually no....and I was re-reading what I posted for clarity\correction when you posted. I need to not post on first cup of coffee when brain cells aren't up to snuff :(
    Sorry for the mis-information....I have now removed my mistake.

    Regards,
    Bubba
     
  13. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
    You can find what all the mumbo jumbo means here: http://www.microsoft.com/resources/...Windows/XP/all/reskit/en-us/prmc_str_masc.asp

    Can you click Start > Run > type (or copy&paste) msconfig > OK

    Then click on the boot.ini tab and check if all the paths are valid.
    (I think it counts the one put there by the recovery console as a boot option)

    If that is true it should look like this:

    But please check as described before if the paths are all valid before you change anything.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  14. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2005
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.