recommended settings for resident scanner ?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Unity, Dec 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Unity

    Unity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    Toulouse ~ France
    I'm currently using AVK single engine version , and i'm trying to limit the impact
    on my system as much as i can. That's why i m trying to figure what filetype i should absolutly add in my resident scanner.

    On the avast forum , Technical has posted the following list for Avast :

    BAT,CHM,CMD,COM,CPL,CRT,DLL,EXE,HTA,HTM*,INF,INS,ISP,JS,JSE,LNK,
    MSC,MSG,MSI,OCX,PIF,REG,SCR,SCT,SHB,SHS,SYS,VBE,VBS,WS?,WSC,WSF,WSH

    I've added Jpg on that list.

    Is that list ok for a good overall protection ? , something i should add ? remove ?

    Thanks for your advices :)
     
  2. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    I think I'd use HT* rather than HTA and HTM* (because there are HTT/HTA/HTM/HTML files), JP* rather than JPG (because there are JPG/JPE/JPEG), and VB* rather than VBE and VBS (for VB/VBE/VBS). And add: DOC, DOT, EML, INI, PDF, RTF, SWF, THEME, URL. Others you may want to add, depending on what software you run, would be ASP, CGI, and PHP. If you run Win9x/Me, add VXD.
     
  3. Unity

    Unity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    Toulouse ~ France
    Thank you for the reply Nameless , for the Jpg issue , i've added jpg and jpeg , i've yet to see a *.jpe but anyway you are right *.jp makes more sense ;)
     
  4. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
  5. Unity

    Unity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    Toulouse ~ France
    well actually , i believe it's *.jp? in the AVK resident scanner :)
    at least that's how i've set it , and it seems to work ^^
     
  6. ?WATERS

    ?WATERS Guest

    HI .i also have an issue with system slow down .can you tell me if by useing these settings ,this resolves the issue, also am i fully protected by applieing these settings
     
  7. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    Are you both using older pcs ?. I have no impact on my system with extendia. I do not have another anti virus on my system though . I shoot up to RAV online now and again. I do not run with a anti trojan real time scanner . I have not limited extendia in any way ( default settings)
     
  8. ?waters

    ?waters Guest

    athlon 2400 ram 512.
    used kav 5 with no slowdown. no other anti virus or trojan scanner.
    Extendia single engine slows system to a crawl.i use reg seeker,window washer and defrag system.It even slows down games like bookworm.
     
  9. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    well im on dell xp and half your ramz and its fine . Thats weird . Is there some other software that it may be slowing down with ? I remember back some time ago I had that issue . I actually dumped a few extra security apps and reloaded windows with the more simple set up and now it works fine . I have a lite firewall ( look n stop) TDS3 (on demand) spywareblaster and Ad-awareSE plus and Processguard and extendia singleKAV ( default settings)
    and it flows well .

    You have webwasher ..I noticed a thread today by Bellgamin saying that webwasher seemed to be slowing him down https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=323119
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2004
  10. ?waters

    ?waters Guest

    Sorry ,my mistake ,its window washer i have.At the moment i have kav 5 on.I have uninstalled extendia untill i hear a way of setting it up.I know it was cheap but now i have paid for it i would like to use it. what i cant understand is if i set kav realtime to max my computer is fine .with extendia it slows down.I have xp pro. No other security programmes except ad aware. I also clean up after removing software.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.