recommend me a firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by AH786, Dec 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AH786

    AH786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    looking for one with low resources, stability ,application control and free.

    I have WRT54G router which has firewall and stealths ports so incoming protection is good enough.
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
  3. AH786

    AH786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    cheers, will give it a try.
     
  4. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
  5. AH786

    AH786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    installed kerio . seems fine. but a exclamation mark keeps coming up and when i click on it nothing happens.
     
  6. AH786

    AH786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    does any1 know how to stop the exclamation mark from popping up. its extremely annoying.
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    AH786

    What kind of exclamation popup do you mean? What does it say?
     
  8. AH786

    AH786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    when im using dc++ a yellow exclamation mark pops up in the taskbar.

    when i click it. it just dissapers. it happens at least every minute.

    it has to be kerio, since nothing else has been installed lately.
     
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    That is a file sharing program of some sort? I am not familiar with the program.
     
  10. AH786

    AH786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Posts:
    17
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    AH786

    I really don't know why you are getting that popup. :doubt:
     
  12. AH786

    AH786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    gonna restart it in a bit. ive cheked the rule, everything seems fine.

    very good FW though, only 7.2mb usage and next to 0 cpu usage under heavy traffic compared to sygate firewalls upto 25mb usage and 5-10% cpu usage.
     
  13. AH786

    AH786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    no it still does it.

    what about xp sp2 firewall?
    is it any good?
     
  14. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    sp2 firewall gives no real outbound protection as far as what goes out.

    Kerio will.

    I use Kerio 2.15 w/sp2 behind a router and no error messages or popups.

    I don't know what to think about an exclamation popup with no info??
     
  15. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Hi AH786

    I believe that is just an alert in tray icon notifying of a firwall event. Does it coincide with blocked entries in your logs? Also, there is a setting in Kerio that deals with animation in the tray icon, not sure if that includes the one you are seeing.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  16. AH786

    AH786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    well i couldnt see any blocked log entries. and i disabled the animation setting, that is for the main kerio icon.

    it only happened in 1 program. dc++
     
  17. AJohn

    AJohn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    935
    If your up for an advanced, free, full statefull inspection firewall that is Mega LiTe on resources check out CHX-I - www.idrci.net (only drawback is no app. filtering)

    Look 'n' Stop is also light on resources and has nice app. filtering - www.soft4ever.com

    Depending on the approach you want to take and money u are willing to spend, pcInternetPatrol is a good layer of security, but I wouldnt depend on it soley and it is expensive - www.pcinternetpatrol.com

    McAfee has a commercial version of there Personal Firewall Pro which is pretty light on resources and has rule-making per application, however its app. control isnt as strong as L 'n' S's - http://www.mcafeesecurity.com/us/products/mcafee/host_ips/desktop_firewall.htm

    A decent free alternative for app. control is SecurePoint - www.securepoint.cc

    GL
     
  18. daddymo3

    daddymo3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    Vancouver,BC,Canada
    Newbie Here! I'm looking for a F.W. similar to the one on XP.
    My mom (65 years old) has a Celeron 1.3 with Windows 98. And she is kind of a techno-phobe.
    So I want to install something for her that is very easy to use,something that does'nt keep asking her what to do,and something that does'nt slow down the comp. too much.

    Thanx in advance
     
  19. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
  20. Ga1tar

    Ga1tar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Posts:
    118
    Location:
    U.K
    I tried the free version of securepoint and could not get it too work for love nor money, pity as it looked good and had such good reviews. Am currently using 8signs which seems to work ok and is light on resources.
     
  21. AH786

    AH786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    thanks for the replies.

    i tried kerio, sygate, securepoint, x-wall and filseclab.

    would have chosen kerio if it wasnt for the annoyin problem.

    went with sygate, when you turn off traffic logging it performs better.
     
  22. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    What type of Internet connection?

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  23. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    8Signs is great at inbound protection, probably, but it doesn't bear mentioning here, does it? It completely lacks outbound (application) control, if I'm not mistaken.
    -
     
  24. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    I hope for your sake that the results shown here aren't accurate, or don't apply to you:

    http://www.firewallleaktester.com/tests.htm

    I don't follow Sygate, so I can't say either way.
    -
     
  25. AJohn

    AJohn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    935
    Sygate has a built in Intrustion Detection System, but you cannot configure it at all, only overrule it... I dont like that :-(

    It also seems to slow down my internet connection and doesnt filter local proxies... besides that it would be a great firewall...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.