Recommend free layered security solution

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Kernelwars, Aug 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kernelwars

Kernelwars Registered Member

Hi Guys,
    I invite all the security experts here at wilders to recommend a layered protection suite (preferably free softwares) that can be used to fight zero day threats and provide a solid protection for not so savvy computer users...
    Thanks,
    Kernel

2. jmonge

jmonge Registered Member

GesWall Free:thumb: or BufferZone Free:thumb: :thumb:

3. Boost

Boost Registered Member

Fixed

4. bellgamin

bellgamin Registered Member

I am not a security expert but here goes anyway . . . .

+ Avast-free (antivirus with integral behavior blocker)
    + Private Firewall (firewall with Stateful Packet Inspection plus HIPS)
    + Macrium Reflect (image your system disk at least weekly & retain at least 4 most recent images)

5. eugene91

eugene91 Registered Member

6. guest

guest Guest

Comodo IS (without the AV) Firewall + HIPS + Sandbox
    Avast Free / Avira / MSE
    Safe Online "Free" (facebook)
    Peerblock if you use p2p
    Immunet (Optional)
    Some software for doing backups

7. blacknight

blacknight Registered Member

- firewall router ( sorry, not free :D )
    - HIPS: Comodo or Online Armor free
    - av ( Avira, Avast )
    - GesWAll
    - a disk image software ( Macrium ? I have not experience, I use Acronis True Image buy )

8. tlu

tlu Guest

LUA + SRP/Applocker.

If you have a Windows version that doesn't support SRP, use Sully's PGS. An alternative for Windows 7 (although inferior to a LUA/Applocker combo) is described here.

9. ExtremeGamerBR

ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

Firewall + HIPS + Sandbox: Comodo Internet Security 4.1 (Without the AV)
    Antivirus: Avast! - File Guard and Behavior Blocker
    Windows: UAC + LUA + SRP
    Ohers: PrevX SafeOnline (Facebook)

10. pling_man

pling_man Registered Member