Recommend a light firewall to go along with WSA

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by moneysavingexpert, Jan 12, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. moneysavingexpert

    moneysavingexpert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    Please.

    Looked at LnS but it is too complicated and causes problems. Might try it again if there is a consensus.

    Also looking at Private Firewall.

    Thanks.
     
  2. moneysavingexpert

    moneysavingexpert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    Just thinking about this, have now installed LnS, as a short term measure.

    I will add Phant0m ruleset to it.

    BUT will it allow my wireless printer to worko_O? Or will that take some tinkering, as some posts found in google show.
     
  3. moneysavingexpert

    moneysavingexpert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    Just noticed WSA setting:

    Firewall - "warn if any untrusted process process connects to the internet unless explicitly allowed"

    BUT what I would like is "Ask before allowing connection to the internet" [with an option to remember what was allowed/blocked] as a feature to control outbound net access.

    Will this ever be added?

    Webroot should not choose what can and cannot have access if I don't want it to.
     
  4. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Windows firewall ;)
     
  5. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    +1 :thumb:......spot on.:)
     
  6. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    When WSA "warns" I don't know if it "blocks" or "allows" while it waits for a user response...? I've used the free ZoneAlarm firewall alongside WSA and it will do what you want.
     
  7. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    +1 too

    Used to use KIS with WSA and how now gone for Windows Firewall together with Windows 7 Firewall Control, to allow me more granularity in outbound communications (if that is set on its 'Low Filtering' profile then WSA has precedence but if set to 'Medium Filtering' WSA retires into the background and 'passes' control over the the Windows Firewall and W7FC provides IMHO all the control I need re. rules, etc.)
     
  8. guest

    guest Guest

    Most third party personal firewall software have it. Comodo FW, Online Armor, Outpost, Privatefirewall. Another alternative is to use the built-in Windows FW with an outbound control add-on, as others have said. I don't see much value in outbound connections control personally, but I had a good experience with Sphinx's Windows Firewall Control in the past.
    hxxp://www.sphinx-soft.com/Vista/index.html
     
  9. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    The built in Windows firewall :thumb:
     
  10. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    I've run Private Firewall along side WSA Complete now for about 18 months. I've never had a single problem with this combo; highly recommended... :thumb:
     
  11. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    When it warns, it will block the connection awaiting the user's response.

    The option, "Warn if any untrusted process process connects to the internet unless explicitly allowed" should be sufficient for any firewall needs.
     
  12. Hawk82

    Hawk82 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    Why is the default allow the process to connect after x seconds? There should be an option to disable that and I looked everywhere but no luck. It can't be disabled.
    webroot firewall.jpg
     
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It won't permanently allow the process - just that one connection. Many users don't know why they would block a connection, and blocking them automatically can break applications in the background.

    This has been requested to be clarified in the past so there might be an opportunity for another configuration option here (although I don't want to complicate the product after we spent a while simplifying it).

    I'll ask the users here: what do you think about a registry entry which would default to block instead of allow when the firewall warns? That would save the UI complexity, and we could provide an easy-to-import entry to enable it if wanted.

    Thanks for the help!
     
  14. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Joe

    Hope that you are well?

    Sounds like a good idea. Probably need a couple of easy-to-import entries to enable it if wanted, and to disable it, if after enabling it there is a want to revert back to the default?

    Just a thought.

    Regards


    Baldrick
     
  15. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Definitely - one key to enable/one to disable would be very worthwhile :thumb:
     
  16. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It would be nice to have the option for the one's that are more knowledgeable!

    Daniel ;)
     
  17. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    why not a checkbox in the advanced settings area of wsa firewall? then normal people would never see it and advanced users could turn it on easy enough?
     
  18. Hawk82

    Hawk82 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    Yeah, exactly my thoughts...I guess they need to make a super advanced menu in the advanced menu for advanced users :D

    Joking aside, I would really appreciate the option to turn it off with any method.
     
  19. reyes

    reyes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    48
    Location:
    INDIA
    if i use binisoft windows firewall control along with WSA should i disable WSA firewall or should i keep it enabled as WFC is just a front end with outbound control to windows firewall?
     
  20. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    That's only if you're on Windows 7. Us with Windows 8.1 do not have that option, I'm afraid.
     
  21. dbrisendine

    dbrisendine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Online Armor Free works very well with WSA. No problems at but really on Win7 or Win8, the OS firewall is fine.
     
  22. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    You can always leave WSA's firewall enabled.
     
  23. reyes

    reyes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    48
    Location:
    INDIA
    thanks for the reply i am using windows firewall control only because WSA firewall lacks settings in windows 8.1... hope it will have the same settings as in windows 7
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2014
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.