Reboot Restore Rx

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by genieautravail, May 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. genieautravail

    genieautravail Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Posts:
    92
  2. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    That's intersting.

    Thanks for the info on that.

    You don't see too much "Freeware" anymore.

    I can see how this would be a great tool for the common pc's in hotels business centers especially.
     
  3. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    I remember that this was already mentioned in another thread, but still, thank you for bringing it up to the top of the forum. Hopefully we can get input from somebody who has used it.
     
  4. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,059
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    The major flaw at the moment appears to be that any user can TURN OFF the restore function, make all the changes he/she wants, then turn the function back on, basically creating a brand new ALTERED baseline to be used by the product (this from an HDS forum on the subject). Seems to make the product kind of useless to me.

    HDS claims that was done to make it "easy" to manage the baseline, and said they didn't want to password protect the baseline so they wouldn't constantly get support requests to figure out what the lost passwords are.
     
  5. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Hmmm.... sort of defeats the purpose doesn't it?

    I guess someone would have to know how to do this or want to change the baseline.

    But it still leaves the door open to unwanted baseline alterations.
     
  6. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Comodo Time machine is a free option.

    I tend to steer clear of these applications.

    Cause more harm to your hard drive than good.
     
  7. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Toolwiz TimeFreeze is a much better option if you need this kind of software.:thumb:
     
  8. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    I think that this is a good option for people who actually know what they are doing.
    Like TheRollbackFrog said, if you turn it off, you can change/update the baseline and turn it on again after that.
     
  9. genieautravail

    genieautravail Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Posts:
    92
    YES, the software is very easy to use.
    You choose the partitions which must be protected at setup and it's all. :)
    No settings, no advanced features.
    The software is running smoothly on a Windows XP Pro SP3 test machine. :cool:
     
  10. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,093
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Is it SSD compatible?

    THX
     
  11. genieautravail

    genieautravail Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Posts:
    92
    I use a HDD on my test computer.
    But as RollBack Rx is SSD compatible since 2011,I'm pretty sure that Reboot Restore Rx is SSD compatible. :)
     
  12. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,059
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Pls be forewarned... RBrx has been proven (in both v9.1 and v10) to NOT be SSD friendly, especially as far as TRIM support by Windows (Win7, Win8 ) is concerned.

    Although HDS has said this is not true, it has been proven to be so. Without TRIM being truly active between the OS and the SSD, wear leveling with the MLC NAND memory used with SSDs cannot be performed properly and the disk will wear at a much greater rate, shortening its life considerably.

    Also, on your TEST machine with XPsp3, TRIM use with SSDs (if your sysytem had one) is not even supported in the OS.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2013
  13. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    This has been debated at great length of the HDS forums already and the company has been very silent about the truth.

    http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/53...ware-review-and-guide-rollback-rx/index7.html

    I have seen myself TRIM being disabled with RBX 9 and 10. I abandoned the product since.
     
  14. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,025
    Location:
    USA
    As they have with a variety of Rollback Rx matters as well. :blink:

    Cruise
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.