Really strange W10/Sandboxie/Firefox/CCleaner behavior!

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ratchet, Dec 22, 2015.

  1. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,908
    Since the W10 upgrade to v1511, I've been pestered with a giant "Upgrade" MS popup, even though I have a fully activated Product Key and W10 system. The file name even included the word popup! I tried several blocking extensions, e.g. Adblock Plus, which I always had enabled, NoScript, uBock, etc. but nothing worked. The constant was it always happened opening Ff after running CC. Our homepage is MSN. It never happened using edge. I then discovered that if Sandboxie's "Forced Programs" was disabled it didn't occur. Now here is where it really gets bizarre: I'm not even sure how I discovered it but...I launch Ff from a Sandboxie quick launch icon, however, again I don't even know why I tried the following but if I launch Ff from a Ff icon (or shortcut), even with Sandboxie enabled, no issue. You have no idea how this has been bugging me! Merry c
    Christmas!
     
  2. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,060
    I've seen that message on MSN page also. Why you see it sometimes and not other - if I would have to guess I would say that it has something to do with cookies. CCleaner probably deletes cookies and next time you visit that site you get message again. Sandboxie also controls what gets saved to disk and what not. So it all depends on how you got it set up (direct access to FF cookies or other resources). If you use different sandboxes to launch FF you can get different behavior according to each sandbox settings. That's just me guessing.
     
  3. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,768
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Ratchet, perhaps when you run Firefox using the SandboxedWebBrowser icon, Firefox runs in the DefaultBox. And when you run it using the Firefox icon (runs as a Forced program), it runs in a different sandbox. Sounds to me like you need to delete contents of your DefaultBox.

    Bo
     
  4. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,908
    Thank you for the replies folks! I've always had Sb set to delete the contents when closing browsers or imap/pop3 email clients and it still does. I'm not sure what sandbox it is using now but I'm happy and leaving things alone. Indeed, that is my problem, not leaving things alone. Old mechanic has to keep tweaking you know!
     
  5. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,768
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Ratchet, with nothing running sandboxed, go to C>Sandbox>User, and make sure there's nothing in there other than the Dont use text file. If you see any other folders or files there, delete them manually.

    Sin título.jpg

    To know in which sandbox Firefox runs when you run it as a Forced program, look in SBIE control, there you can see the name of the sandbox in which is running after launching Firefox as a Forced program.

    Bo
     
  6. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,908
    Thank you Bo! Actually there were two. One labeled guest from 2012 and another from early this morning! I wonder if Sandboxed programs will be crisper now, although I built this in 2012 with a SSD and 8 gigs of RAM so I probably won't notice anything.
    On another note, relative to RAM, I occasionally check to see how much RAM is ever being accessed and although x64 it is rarely even 2 gigs let alone goes over that. Unless you game or some other intense use, four gigs is probably sufficient for most.
     
  7. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,768
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Sandboxed programs probably wont run crispier but by deleting the sandbox manually, changes that you done to the browser while sandboxed should be gone now. If you remember the folders name that had todays date, then go to Sandbox settings and make sure that sandbox is set to delete automatically on closing.

    My thinking is that by deleting the sandbox manually, you shouldn't get anymore the pop up that's bothering you. In other words, whatever triggered the pop up, was trapped within the sandbox. If you deleted the folder with today's date, the pop up is gone now. By setting the sandbox to delete automatically, you shouldn't get this sort of thing anymore in the future.

    Bo
     
  8. SouthPark

    SouthPark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    260
    Location:
    USA
    See my post here on how to stop it: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thre...-version-released.361562/page-32#post-2551115
     
  9. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,908
Loading...