Real-time backup

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by pb1, Oct 9, 2024.

  1. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Hi.

    Anyone know of a free real-time backup program?

    I have my user data folder for the browser on another partiton and therefore want a program to backup every change to that partition instantly.
     
  2. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

  3. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    What do you mean by "user data folder for the browser"? Is it some internal browser folder for internal browser use or some kind of user-facing Download folder? If former is the case then I wouldn't recommend file-based backups, because browsers nowadays use databases. Copying files of database in-use at random moments in time isn't really a good idea. Resulting database will sometimes be in inconsistent state. It is probably better to use in-browser sync functionalities for former case. In addition the wording of "real-time backup" suggest that you don't really want a backup, but rather some kind of synchronization.
    Backups usually contain data from the past, which is a feature, because it prevents data loss in case of wrongful user action i.e file deletion or software bug making database inconsistent or binary file corrupted.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2024
  4. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Robocopy will do an automatic backup when files are changed in the source. No need to press a button.
    It's a synchronisation..
     
  6. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    @Brian K is correct. Something like this would work

    /mot:<M>
    Monitors source, and runs again in M minutes if changes are detected.

    So, "robocopy C:\test T:\ /MIR /MOT:5" mirrors everything in c:\test to t:\ every 1 minute

    Or, there's always DSynchronize if you prefer a gui.
     
  7. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Thank you guys, and or girls.

    For now i will use Fast Copy and remember to push a button, but i will investigate the suggestions in the future.
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    With Robocopy, try and avoid copying a root directory such as D:\
    There is a Robocopy bug as the backed up files and folders become hidden. You can unhide them with...

    attrib -s -h G:\Backup_D

    Also, you need this in the command line to prevent copying these folders...

    /XD "System Volume Information" Recycler $Recycle.bin

    So if you have files and folders in D:\ I suggest creating a new folder in the root and move all your previous files and folders into this new folder. Move and not copy, so it will be fast. Then backup D:\New-folder. Your backup in another partition will not be hidden.

    Edit... Robocopy is fast. I backup D:\My_files daily. The folder contains 400 GiB. The backup takes a minute.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2024
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Here is my robocopy batch file...

    Code:
    set source=D:\My_files
    set target=H:\DATA_Backup\My_files_backup
    set rlog=H:\data-rclog.log
    robocopy.exe "%source%" "%target%" *.* /mir /copy:DAT /dcopy:DA /r:0 /v /xj /mt:32 /log:"%rlog%"
    set source=
    set target=
    set rlog=
    
    Anyone can use this batch file. You just have to edit the first 3 lines. Don't edit the other lines.
    In the first 3 Set lines, enclose the path with " " if spaces are present.

    For pb1, use...

    Code:
    robocopy.exe "%source%" "%target%" *.* /mir /MON:1 /MOT:1 /copy:DAT /dcopy:DA /r:0 /v /xj /mt:32 /log:"%rlog%"
    This will backup if one file has been changed. (/MON:1) It runs every minute. (/MOT:1)

    Edit... set target line changed to remove a protected folder.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2024
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Regarding...

    Code:
    *.* /mir /copy:DAT /dcopy:DA /r:0 /v /xj /mt:32 
    These switches work if the backup target is an internal or USB external drive or a network drive. Other switch combinations have caused issues for me.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2024
  11. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    How are you accessing H:\TeraByte_TBI_Backups with protectit? As far as I know there's no way to whitelist robocopy.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2024
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    I am using it but I deleted the lines from the batch file to save confusion. Sorry, I created confusion for H:\TeraByte_TBI_Backups users.

    For those not using TeraByte_TBI_Backups in the batch file, my original batch file is fine for general use. I should have posted...

    set target=H:\DATA_Backup\My_files_backup

    Edit... earlier set target line changed to above.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2024
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Nate, you changed your post. You originally asked why I wasn't using protectit. So my answer was based on your original post.
     
  14. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Yeah, I did. I thought you root dir was incorrect, which would have meant you weren't using protectit. But I was wrong.
     
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    In my computer I have to use protectit (because of the protected folder) with my batch file. Mu first line is...
    net stop protectit

    and last line is...
    net start protectit
     
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Anyone following this thread and not using the TeraByte protected folder, ignore the comments about protectit.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice