Real firewall without HIPS

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by BoerenkoolMetWorst, Jul 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    A lot of software firewalls these days are just outbound connection control and HIPS, but that's not what I'm looking for. Are there also software firewalls which focus on inbound protection to stop all kinds of network attacks, worms, port scanning etc. and using techniques like IDS and SPI? I know there are consumer routers with SPI, but those are quite basic and corporate firewalls are really expensive. Plus, if you're not at home or wherever you firewall is, your notebook will not be protected so that's another reason for a good software firewall.
     
  2. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    Sunbelt and Outpost both use IDS. I think ZoneAlarm Pro does as well but don't quote me.
     
  3. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    I also want a good inbound-only and firewall-only software :(
    Look 'n' Stop is the closest one I've found... but its not free :thumbd:
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    If you guys are just looking for good inbound, why not just use a NAT router and forget the software firewalls? A router stops all unsolicited inbound traffic, period. What more do you need?
     
  5. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Kerodo, part of the question is about laptops. A travelling laptop has no router. So at home you can rely on the router, but in the wild wicked world a software fw is a must.
     
  6. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Use Fortinet Personal Firewall..:)
     
  7. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Good point, I wasn't thinking laptops and netbooks... Thanks for pointing that out.
     
  8. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,075
    Try Comodo, you can customize the installation and install the Firewall only, no HIPS, no AV, no Sandbox.
     
  9. kerykeion

    kerykeion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Posts:
    267
    Location:
    Philippines
    IHMO, it's quite a resource hog, like ZoneAlarm. (I'm not starting a flame war here)

    You might want to try the following:

    Kerio 2.1.5
    Sygate Personal Firewall
    Comodo Firewall (without the D+/Sandbox/AV)
    Windows Firewall :D
     
  10. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
  11. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
  12. CiX

    CiX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Posts:
    404
    Try Fortinet or ZoneAlarm(turn off outbound protection) ;)
     
  13. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I had not seen that, so thanks for pointing it out.
     
  14. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Thanks for your replies, Sunbelt Kerio and Fortinet seem to be the best options for me.

    Vista 32-bit. That firewall seems nice, but I don't think I have enough knowledge to configure it properly.
     
  15. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    Have you taken a look at Jetico? Their firewall does have HIPS, but you can easily disable it by checking the default ruleset's disabled bypass rule in the Process attack table. I moved to this from Kerio 4 (now Sunbelt) and have yet to find anything as light and simple to configure to get me to switch. Look 'n' Stop comes closest, but Jetico is so much easier to use.
     
  16. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    No flame war..:D But when did you use it last. In the latest version it has optimized its performance a lot. If I am not wrong, I also saw kees1958 recommending it elsewhere..;)
     
  17. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
    Thats correct ZA firewall driver can consume as little as 2MB on idle and up to 30MB when on duties. It just adapt itself to the memory available and release it as soon as un-needed. At least this is what I see here :)

    Of course resource hog can mean anything, there is always a case where it does not play nice with certain systems or configurations not more not less than other security tools.
     
  18. kerykeion

    kerykeion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Posts:
    267
    Location:
    Philippines
    I last used ZA Pro 9.1, it wasn't playing well with my setup for some reason though. But good thing it's light on your systems/VMs.

    Cheers! :thumb:
     
  19. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    On that note, does anyone know where I can download Jetico version 1 for an XP user? I believe Jetico 1 is still freeware but I can't find a download link on their site.
     
  20. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    353
    Location:
    Netherlands
  21. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
  22. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    353
    Location:
    Netherlands
    :) Your welcome.
     
  23. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    You can use Windows Firewall with Windows 7 Firewall Control. That will make it easy to manage and get better protection without HIPS.
     
  24. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
  25. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    353
    Location:
    Netherlands
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.