Re-Arrange Context Menu

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by screamer, Jul 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Does anyone know of an app or a hack to re-arrange context menu listings?
    eg. the "order" in which menu items are listed. I'd like to have my security apps "scan with" arranged together. Sounds trivial, but I find it a pain in the ass to have them scattered about. In this age of "Have it your way" I don't see why I shouldn't.

    ...screamer
     

    Attached Files:

  2. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I'm also interested in one...
     
  3. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    If you google "change context menu" there are several reg edits and apps that do several things to this menu, but none of them seem to allow a "re-arrangement" of the listed items. they allow "Add & Remove" items though.

    VC if that's what you are looking for just google it. I've tried several and they all seem to work to some extent. I have x-setup installed on a test snapshot, but it still will not let me re-arrange the list.

    ...screamer
     
  4. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Take a look at Mmmfree

    http://www.hace.us-inc.com/mmm.shtml

    This program works very well. Have used for quite some time. It allows you to reduce the size of your right click context menu by moving items into a hidden but accessible sub-folder.
     
  5. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Not a simple undertaking as demonstrated HERE. Good luck. I have not attempted it yet. Let us know if you do and how you did it.
     
  6. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Too much futzin', too little improvement...

    Gotta agree w/ you here ThunderZ.

    ...screamer
     
  7. eniqmah

    eniqmah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    391
    This program rocks. Very fully customizable, Much easier then mucking around the registry. DOES add a process to the startup list @ 780K RAM usage.
     
  8. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Looked into Mmm; unfortunately it doesn't work w/ Directory Opus :(

    ...screamer
     
  9. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    I downloaded Mmm. Pretty cool!

    I use FreeCommander and while the free version of mmm doesn't work with it (apparently Mmm+ does), many of my right clicks are often on the desktop, where it works like a champ!
     
  10. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Neither with xplorer2 Pro... :(
     
  11. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
  12. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    The authors of Mmm+ suggest you send them an email requesting support for programs not now supported. Revisit the link above and this suggestion and email address is listed in lower left of link page. This relates to the paid version.

    http://www.hace.us-inc.com/mmm.shtml

    If you like the Mmm, you might also like Free Launch Bar which enables you to create an assortment of toolbars. I use it and have created a series of folder/toolbars which form a "U" around the 3 edges of my desktop. For me, I use something like Favorites or a Menu.

    http://www.freelaunchbar.com/

    Here's an article about TrueLaunchBar which is the paid version of FreeLaunchBar
    http://www.dx21.com/HOME/ARTICLES/PR/PRODREV.ASP?CID=7
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2007
  13. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Hi GroverH,

    I contacted the developer. He told me they have no plans to include Mmm+ w/ Directory Opus, due to DO proprietary coding. :(

    ...screamer
     
  14. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Thanks Huppi,

    Actually I was looking to re-arrange my context menu items. I'm not really having problems w/ the context menu.

    ...screamer
     
  15. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,634
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    This is a needed program long neglected by developers for a long time. I also wish i could systematically make my own changes in the right-click menu but never run across one yet. The MM is ok i guess but i didn't like the way it also branded my menu plus used some resources even though they are light enough.
     
  16. eniqmah

    eniqmah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    391
    Looks like it works on my rig.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    I tried Mmm and it doesn't work w/ DO. Only works on Desktop context menu. Guess it's time to go to my hip in order to give Mmm+ a shot.

    Thanks enigmah :)

    ...screamer
     
  18. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,634
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I'm sure theres a good one floating around the net someplace. When i locate it i'll share it with everyone.
     
  19. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    I D/L'd and installed Mmm+. It worked to some extent. What I didn't like and un-installed due to "allow low-level disc access" to too many apps.

    I'm continuing on my quest.

    ...screamer
     
  20. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    Considering it is dealing with the Explorer shell I can understand the need for it to do that. Having said that, my reaction would have been the same....out it go`s. Have dumped a few apps. that, understandably, needed the same or logged key strokes. Ahh the price we pay for being to(?) security conscious.
     
  21. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,055
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I knew about MMM free before, but I had the "sub-menus closing when opening on the left side of the root-menu" problem, luckily this seems to be solved, so I became excited, however, I now see that it seems to conflict with SSM Pro (can´t even boot up) can anyone confirm? :doubt:
     
  22. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Rasheed,

    Do you have an X in: Rules | Applications | System Control
    [x] Low Level Disc Access ?

    ...screamer

    I found another app that seems to have some promise and it doesn't need low level access, just changes registry keys.

    Fast Explorer: http://thesoftpro.tripod.com/downloads/fe/

    Still searching though
     
  23. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,634
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Not too bad although not exactly what we would like i'm sure but hey, anything that helps makes the menu a bit more useable than it is. Thanks for the effort.
     
  24. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,055
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    @ Screamer, strangely enough SSM Pro never prompts me about "Low Level Disk Access", and with an older version of SSM I don´t get any stability problems, at least not yet. And I will check out "Fast Explorer", I saw it before but never really looked in to it, it also seems to be a bit more complex, but I´m not sure.
     
  25. LUSHER

    LUSHER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    440
    I have this freeware utility that allows you to rearrange context menu entries. Being using it for ages...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.