Re-activate using new username and password?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by am_dew, Dec 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. am_dew

am_dew Registered Member

I have been using the same ESS 5 Username and password for the past several years, just updating my subscription each year online via ESET. I found a very good deal online at a very reputable reseller (Newegg) this year on ESS 5, so I bought it instead of updating my subscription via ESET directly. Will I have any issues when I go to input the new Username and password into my existing ESS 5?

Thanks!

2. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

3. am_dew

am_dew Registered Member

Thanks. I guess I will have to wait and see because I don't see an obvious answer there.

4. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

ESET will not know you purchased a new license unless you activate the license.

If you purchase from a ESET reseller or ESET, there are no such questions.

5. am_dew

am_dew Registered Member

OK -- again, I think i will have to see what I get from Newegg. If a new Username and password is provided, then I will be good because that seems to be the only option I have with my current install, otherwise I am not clear on what I will need to do. I just hope it does not involve a uninstall/re-install.

6. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

7. am_dew

am_dew Registered Member

Thanks Ron.

8. agoretsky

agoretsky Eset Staff Account

Hello,

When your current subscription expires, go ahead and generate a new username and password by entering the activation key from the retail, boxed version of ESET Smart Security that you purchased from NewEgg using the form on this page. When done, you will have a new username and password.

Go back to your desktop and open the ESET user interface. Press Ctrl+U to bring up the License Details dialog, and enter your new username and password, and click on OK to commit the change.