RAS v2 stopped updating v2.7 clients

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Ritmo2k, Nov 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ritmo2k

    Ritmo2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Hi,
    It will update v3 clients though? The 2.7 clients can update from eset to, just not my RAS anymore? The mirror is setup in RAS, not through a client on the RAS machine.

    Any ideas?
    Thanks,
    jlc
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    ESET Remote Administrator creates a mirror for ESS/EAV. NOD32 v2 will not update from it.
     
  3. Ritmo2k

    Ritmo2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Well thats an easy fix, but a bizarre limitation for sure! Hopefully a v3 client can create a mirror that v2 clients can use...

    Thanks!
    jlc
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If you want to create a mirror for v2 and v3 on the same computer, you'll need to install ERA to create a mirror for v3 and NOD32 v2 in LAN to create a mirror for v2.
     
  5. Ritmo2k

    Ritmo2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Thanks Marcos,
    Can't make sense of that limitation? I intend to only have one v2 client on our exchange server so i will just let it update from the net.

    Appreciate the confirmation.
    jlc
     
  6. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    oh for crying out loud - WHY?!??!

    This is insanity - it needs to be backwards compatible for mixed OS installations.... not making it so is really losing the plot...
     
  7. Ritmo2k

    Ritmo2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Heh, not a problem here anymore...

    We ripped out v3 clients completely! The list of things it was breaking on different machines was getting to long.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.