RAS Async Adapter Hidden network

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by wutsup, Oct 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    hey wilders,

    i was looking through device manager with show hidden devices enabled. and under network adapters, i see RAS Async Adapter. is this normal to have this in Vista 64 bit home premium? i dont think this was here before
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2010
  4. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    hey cudni, in my last hidden network adapters post i never had "RAS Async Adapter", that's why im asking.

    but now in my new clean install of vista, i have "RAS Async Adapter" which was never in my other install of vista.

    1.should i just leave it alone or uninstall it?

    2.also, i noticed i only have 1 isatap hidden adapter instead of 2 like last time. what gives?
     
  5. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    anyoneo_O

    my last vista install did not have "RAS Async Adapter"

    but my most recent vista install has "RAS Async Adapter". i tried uninstalling it through device manager and it doesnt do anything.

    how do i uninstall this?
     
  6. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    HELLO? can someone reply please
     
  7. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  8. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    well i just changed out the hard drive so its the same OEM vista install disk.

    yea sorry about making another thread cudni, but i was just frustrated that noone was responding. did you get my PM?

    and do you think RAS Async Adapter is a security threat? cause its related to the asyncmac.sys driver which is MS Remote Access Serial Network driver i have remote access services disabled in services.msc also
     
  9. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    I doubt it is any threat at all
     
  10. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    ok, but I still want to know why ras async adapter wasn't in my previous installation of vista, but it it is in my current installation of vista.

    Do you have ras async adapter in device manager?
     
  11. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    I don't have a Vista machine to check but if it was there it wouldn't have bothered me. Did you try removing it as per link earlier?
     
  12. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Yes, Cudni's post? Disable perhaps the better option.
     
  13. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    hey guys sorry for not replying, global i got your pm.

    i asked on the overclock.net forums and someone gave me a good explanation of what RAS Async Adapter is. he said if you disable it or uninstall it windows might not work anymore as its a part of windows.

    but im just wondering why my current vista install has it in hidden network adapters but my previous vista install didnt have it.
     
  14. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    when i asked on the overclock.net forums, some guy with windows 7 also says he has ras async adapter in hidden network adapters.

    maybe its just a part of windows afterall.

    still baffled as to why my previous vista install never had it.

    and would RAS Async Adapter be any kind of security threat? cause it has something to do with microsoft remote access
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.