Ran the Tests

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Phazor, May 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Phazor

    Phazor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    111
    Ive run Prevx, MBAM, Hitman Pro.
    Nothing comes up.
    However, as of lately. After hitting the switch on my cable modem to disconnect. And after a while coming back to my computer, the cable modems lights will all be on indicating that im connected to the internet.

    The cable modem normally would stay off until I switched it back on. So Ive never had this problem before. What gives?
     
  2. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    Hi Phazor.
    You're going to need to provide more information regarding your particular setup and any recent additions/modifications,etc. in order to be able to try and answer your query.
     
  3. Phazor

    Phazor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    111
    WinXp Pro / Got some malware / downloaded MBAM, HitMan and Prevx / Found it & cleaned it.
    Computer has been running fine no problems for atleast 5-6 weeks. Then all of a sudden Prevx didnt want to load at start up, couldnt even start it by going to programs menu / Modem would turn on by itself, after a while.
    I removed it (prevx) and reinstalled it which then Prevx would work at start up. Seemed to work ok, but now again the modem wants to turn itself on after sitting for a while.
    You can turn off again but then after a while the modem wants to turn back on.
    Ran all three scans again and nothing found
     
  4. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Just take the cord out;)
     
  5. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    the turn on/off switch, is the one when pressed it stays off until pressed again? If yes then the problem lays with modem switch. If not what make/model modem?
     
  6. Phazor

    Phazor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    111
    Looking at the switch, it is on top of the modem and actually says
    'Standby' so not a 'on/off' switch but in either case after about 15 minutes or even sometimes longer the modem comes out of 'standby' mode.
    its a Motorola Surfboard SB5101
     
  7. Buster_BSA

    Buster_BSA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    560
    Run Dr.Web Cureit!
     
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  9. Phazor

    Phazor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    111
    Ok ive got a update... I didnt call my isp tech support as of yet.

    But Ive determined.

    If I have the screen set for 'none' for a screen saver. Then after a few minutes the screen powers off with just a blank screen.
    In this mode, I have left the computer on for just over an hour and the modem remains in 'standby' mode.
    I must hit the windows key on the keyboard to have the screen reappear. Modem continues to be in standby mode after doing so.


    Now if I select the windows xp screen saver. Then after a few minutes the screen saver comes on and after about 20 minutes the modem comes out of 'standby' mode and the screen saver is still running.


    Any Ideas?
     
  10. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Hmm.. what I don't get is how is the Router/modem connected to the screensaver? Is it an option or settings for that in your particular router.
    My knowledge is that the Router shouldn't have any connection what so ever to the screen-saver, i've never heard anything like it before.

    And it sounds really wierd though I must say:(
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2010
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.