RAID issue w/restoration

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jbmorris, Aug 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jbmorris

    jbmorris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    lightning strike toasted my motherboard & power supply.
    apparently the replacement required a new RAID driver and the previously used driver will not work with the new configuration.
    i do have a current backup of c:\ w/Acronis 9.0 prior to the crash.

    I don't think the system will see the RAID array if booting from the rescue disk (w/o the RAID controller driver) all I can think of is:
    1. virgin windows install onto new system
    2. restore c:\ from .tib file
    3. reboot system to windows install cd
    4. reinstall windows (w/new RAID controller driver) over restored windows installation (from .TIB file) to preserve previous programs, etc., avoiding reinstalling everything all over again.

    does this sound right?
    is there a better answer?

    would appreciate any help ASAP.

    thanks!
     
  2. ugc

    ugc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    Are you installing your OS on your Raid Setup??
    or
    Are your backups located on the raid?
    or
    both?
     
  3. jbmorris

    jbmorris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    yes.
    OS would go onto RAID.
    TIB file resides on a separate (non-RAID) SATA drive
     
  4. ugc

    ugc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    What you first posted should work. But keep this in mind, if you had to change your mother board, your OS backup from the older motherboard might not work. Because the old OS will think that it is being pirated.

    If you can do it anyother way, someone with more knowledge than me would have to help you.
     
  5. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    Since you're replacing the MotherBoard, and Chipset drivers,... I would Re-Install Windows to avoid any future problems.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.