Raid 0 "Stripe" Compatible Imaging Tools

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by MerleOne, Apr 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MerleOne

MerleOne Registered Member

Hi,

I might get soon a new PC equipped with 2 x 1TB HDD in Raid 0 "Stripe" mode. It seems that IFW is Raid compatible, but I'd like to know if these other imaging tools are also Raid friendly (preferably from people who successfully used them in that configuration) :

- Active@Disk Image 4/5
    - Drive Snapshot
    - Paragon Backup & Recovery 10 Home
    - Macrium Reflect 4.2

Thanks !

2. Peter2150

Peter2150 Global Moderator

Haven't used the 4 you mentioned but I've been using Shadowprotect for several years on a couple of flavors of Raid 0, with no issues.

Pete

3. pandlouk

pandlouk Registered Member

IFW/IFD and Drive snapshot have no problems with raid 0.

With the other three you will be ok as long as you use WinPE as a recovery enviroment.(linux recovery enviroments do not play very well with intel raid)

ps. if is and intel chipset mobo you can configure it as a matrix raid 0 and 1, or better add a 3rd disk and configure them as matrix raid 0 and 5.

Panagiotis

4. Sully

Sully Registered Member

I have used Macrium extensively with RAID 0, never had a problem. As mentioned though, I have had issues with Linux flavored boot cds. I have been using either BartPE or Win7RescuePE though for my restoring, of which I provided the correct drivers for my board. But Macrium itself has never had an issue providing I can get it started ;)

Sul.

5. MerleOne

MerleOne Registered Member

Thanks all. Most if not all commercial release do include this WinPE recovery CD, so I guess I should be OK.

6. J_L

J_L Registered Member

Paragon's Recovery Media works fine on my Nvidia RAID 0, but Macrium's didn't. I don't use the WinPE versions.

7. valnar

valnar Registered Member