Raid 0 and Paragon recovery suite 10

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by swerdna, Feb 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. swerdna

swerdna Registered Member

Hi

Sorry, I got the title wrong, it should be about Raid 1 (two mirrored disks).

I have Paragon Backup & Recovery Suite 10

I'm a newbie as far as Raid and Paragon go. I have a Raid 1 setup using two 500Gb hard drives, running windows xp.

Can I make and restore partition images from that setup as if it was a single non-raided drive?

And similarly, can I make and restore file-based backups of the data on the raided drives?

Thanks
    Swerdna

Last edited: Mar 1, 2010
  2. Paragon_MattK

Paragon_MattK Paragon Moderator

As far as raid and Paragon are concerned, Paragon uses the disk the same as Windows does, in other words if Windows see's the raid as one disk, then Paragon see's it as one disk.

Paragon won't have any trouble backing up or restoring a raid, but remember that the recovery CD's environment's don't always have the driver's for hardware raid controllers, so they would have to be loaded into the winPE disk to restore to the raid.

Also, I don't recommend using software raid controllers (even the windows utility) because you then need the software running in the recovery environment in order to see the array, which can be problematic. On a side note, software raid setups push the raid controlling duties onto the CPU, which can hurt performance.

3. swerdna

That's good news.

Re the raid controllers & software: it's an Intel raid-ready motherboard with controller on the board, so no problem there.

Regarding restoring an image and putting the raid drivers in the win PE disk: Restoration would be a rare event, maybe never, so could I do it this way --> switch the raid off in the BIOS and restore the disks one at a time in a non-raided environment with the standard winPE disk, then switch the raid back on again in the BIOS.

4. Paragon_MattK