RA Mirror Server drops out over time.

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products' started by GeneNZ, Jun 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GeneNZ

    GeneNZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Hi there,

    I've been experiencing a problem with the RA update mirror, whereby over time the update mirror (running on port 2222) simply drops out. Initially the update mirror works fine (the default mirror that comes with the RA server). However, given half a day or a weekend, the update server simply dies, and I am unable to telnet to port 2222. All the clients report a "Unable to find update server" Error as a result. The only way I can correct the issue is to either reboot the server or go into the RA server > Tools > Server Options > Updates > Update Now. This will manually bring the server up. However, as you can imagine, this is extremely annoying.

    This issue started happening when we installed the RA server on a new Dell 1950 server running Windows Server 2008 Standard 64-bit. A reinstall of the OS didn't help the situation either. We are running the latest RA server 3.1.11 and all our clients are 4.0.424 or above. We have 226 clients connected to this RA server.

    I have attempted to try fix the solution by different means, for example, I've checked the proxy settings, cleared the update cache, deleted the updfiles etc. Some solutions had varying success, for example deleting the updfiles allowed the update mirror to stay up for 2 days, however the issue has come back each time. I've collected session and debug logs (with this debug levels set to high), and gone through the multitude of MB's of files its created, and cannot find any obvious errors, other than Threatsense cannot connect errors. I have found similar problems on this forum, however, the way they corrected the issue is by upgrading the RA server. I am currently running the latest version.

    One thing to note is this server is also running WSUS 3.0 SP1, so IIS is installed. However, IIS is definitely not conflicting with any of the ports used by the RA server and mirror server. Does anyone have any ideas of how I can fix this issue?

    Thanks in advance.

    Gene
     
  2. Stealth111

    Stealth111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    I also have the same issue. I have been fighting with it since day 1. I have DEDICATED server 2008 x64 box just for the RAS. Nothing else installed at all. We have 1000+ machines, but the problem is still present, even when only a few hundred are on. Exact same problem you have. You do NOT have to reboot. If you go into the console and tick the "clear update cache", then click "update", your problem will go away until for a SHORT time. It WILL be back though! I have been trying to get this worked out with tech support. The final answer from ESET supoort was that the RAS built in HTTP server cannot handle alot of clients. They said it was not designed for very large implementations. My problem is that "IT SHOULD!!!" The solution that was offered to me is now an ESET KB article, basically they are putting it back on US to either:

    Provide updates via UNC share (share the folder on your network)
    or
    We have to go about setting up our own web server to support their program.

    Also be aware that the instruction posted on their site are CLOSE to being accurate for IIS 7, but did not work for us.
    Here is the link:
    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2270&actp=LIST_RECENT

    Step 15 states "Test the newly configured mirror server by directing an ESET client workstation (running ESET Smart Security or ESET NOD32 Antivirus) to update from http://servername:2221/update.ver and check its connection."
    BUT it would not work that way With my Server 2008 x64 box. I had to make a small adjustment and have the client still point to just: http://servername:2221 without putting the /update.ver on the end..

    GOOD LUCK, and let's hope that they eventually come out with a RAS that will SCALE!!!

    Scott
     
  3. GeneNZ

    GeneNZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks Scott,

    That was a very useful post. I'll take a look at the knowledgebase article, and give it a try. Interestingly, with the exact same number of clients, running on on 2003 x64, it worked perfectly fine.

    Gene
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.