Quick Launch stopped opening automatically

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by werewolf, Jan 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. werewolf

    werewolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    Windows XP. Each time I turn my computer on from a reboot I need to right click taskbar >toolbars >Quick Launch to open it up. I think that an overzealous CCleaner may have done this dirty deed somewhere along the line. Anybody know how I can get QL to open up automatically again?
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,
    CCleaner has a backup option. Restore what you did, first of all.
    Mrk
     
  3. werewolf

    werewolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    1. It happened a couple of CC cleanups ago.

    2. I've deleted CCleaner.


    :)
     
  4. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    First thing you might want to try would be to manually start Quick Launch (as you are now doing) and then make sure "Lock the Taskbar" and "Show Quick Launch" are both checked (right-click on the taskbar and select "Properties"). Next, reboot and see if it opens automatically.
     
  5. werewolf

    werewolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    Nope, tried that.
     
  6. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    A longshot I admit, try two-sixty-three, rt side here ww. I'd have suggested taskbar+ but the restore default's feature isn't available in the freeware. Have you gotten over any recent "toolbar" infection's lately? How 'bout cc, were you removing auto-suggest reg entries?

    PS - You might need the first part of line fifty-four's right side, same page. ;) Try the above with a reboot first.

    GF
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2008
  7. werewolf

    werewolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    A longshot I admit, try two-sixty-three, rt side here ww.

    --- Don't see what in 263 relates to my problem


    I'd have suggested taskbar+ but the restore default's feature isn't available in the freeware. Have you gotten over any recent "toolbar" infection's lately?


    --- Not that I know of


    How 'bout cc, were you removing auto-suggest reg entries?


    --- duh, i dunno


    PS - You might need the first part of line fifty-four's right side, same page. Try the above with a reboot first.


    --- Duh?

    54: http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/regs_edits/msi.reg
     
  8. werewolf

    werewolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    I could try System Restore, but it's really not that big a deal. Can't google up anything on this either. Lots of stuff for people who've accidentally deleted the Show Desktop icon from Quick Launch, tho.
     
  9. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    That's, first part, rt side. Note it has two entries. ;)

    ========================

    *My mistake. I should have specified the second set of instruction's after linking.
    "How" line two-sixty-three relates to your problem, daniweb or techguy.

    Remember, longshot. Should the value exist, re-apply prius04's suggestion, merge the second regfile, reboot.

    Still no joy? Post's 34 and 40 may hold the key.

    ========================

    PS - Based on the body of you're previous reply, you may wanna take a look at this.
    Yes, my pleasure. I'll accept "not that big a deal" as closure.



    GF
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2008
  10. werewolf

    werewolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    Thanks, GF, but I've just sort of given up. It's easy enough to right click and retrieve the Quick Launch after start up.
     
  11. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    You're probably ok continuing with ccleaner ww, simply lay off it's registry option (if that was the case). ;)

    GF
     
  12. werewolf

    werewolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    Ya think? I deleted CCleaner. Perhaps I should put it back and see if it can fix what it (?) busted - or bust something else!
     
  13. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    You mean uninstall? You had the portable? Did you clean the registry with it?

    "It's easy enough to right click and retrieve the Quick Launch after start up."
    Face it, this has gotten old fast, hasn't it?

    I've two additional suggestion's in the event you haven't quite given up.
    *What follow's, not one of'em.

    ========================

    Rt clk, "save target as" on restore to xp default (fixall.vbs) here. Try that (dbl clk to execute).
    *Don't forget, win usually requires a reboot for setting adjustment's. ;)

    **Don't leave out the answer to my third question.
    State any other registry utilities you may be using.



    GF
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2008
  14. werewolf

    werewolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Posts:
    14

    Yes, I uninstalled CCleaner. I don't know what it means, "portable"? Yep, I cleaned the registry, a number of times.

    You lost me with the R Click stuff, bro.

    Other reg cleaning utilities - hmm - another suspect i forgot to mention! - Regseeker!
     
  15. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Portable? See tinyapps preferred program qualification's.

    ========================

    Download Map

    • Place your cursor over the line "restore to xp default." Your status bar should read as follow's.

      http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/regs_edits/xp_taskbar_desktop_fixall.vbs

    • Rt clk, select "save target as."

    • In the dialog that open's, dbl-clk "desktop" from the list of item's on your left so that the "save in" directory up top show's "desktop" as the location the file will be saved to, and the "file name" below report's "fixall.vbs."

    • Clk "save." Run the script by dbl-clking.


    GF
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.