Quick 1st time setup questions:

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by nsta, Apr 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nsta

nsta Registered Member

Hey guys, im new to Nod32, and wanting to work out how to make the application work for my little home enviroment....

I have around 5 machines..,..and have a few quick questions...

1) How often should i have nod32 look for updateso_O...whats the average for most people

2) How often does Nod32 need to scan - is once per day fine...i was thinking immediately after logging in running a background scan as it doesnt seem to chew much resourse.

3) With the auto protect feature on, i have noticed that nod32 will pickup a virus and quaranteen it immediately - where does the file go too_Ostraight to the bin?....i ask this because there are bound to be times when the s/w is wrong and deletes a non-virus app/file etc....

4) How can i make nod32 scan without removing?....id like it to prompt me after the scan with files it found infected, and let me decide appropraite measure...is this also possbile with live protectiono_O

Thanks to all in reply:)

2. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account

1, once per 60 minutes
    2, it's up to you, once per 1-2 weeks would be enough
    3, when a file is cleaned, it goes to quarantine
    4, set the cleaning level to "no cleaning"

3. xMarkx

xMarkx Registered Member

Hello,

Welcome to the forum!

1) By default, ESET NOD32 Antivirus looks for updates every 1 hour. This should be sufficient enough. On average, ESET NOD32 Antivirus gets 2-3 updates per day.

2) By default, ESET NOD32 Antivirus does a background start-up scan after a successful update and at user-logon once per 24 hours maximum. This is sufficient enough. You should do a full system scan once per week, approximately. You can do one manually by clicking "Computer scan" and then "Standard scan" or set one up:

Start>All Programs>ESET>ESET NOD32 Antivirus>ESET NOD32 Antivirus.