Questions Regarding ShadowUser Settings

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Dina, Jul 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dina

Dina Registered Member

hi guys. got several questions and would like to clarify some things regarding the settings of SU. Its my first time to use this type of application so please forgive me for asking some basic questions. Ive read the manual, went to their forum and site. Ive tried running on shadow mode a couple of times (and I really like what it can do) but I thought it would better to hear first from the users themselves before proceeding. Ive also read through posts here in this forum.

First, regarding the Exclusion List and the Auto Commit list. I understand that if I include a folder in the exclude list, it means that when whatever I do with them, (edit files, add files, delete files) when I reboot my system, these changes will "stick" permanently. So if I add a folder named Wilder in the exclusion list before going into shadowmode, and then add some files inside it while I am in shadow mode, when I reboot, I will see those files I added.

Autocommit list, from what I read in the manual, is described as follows :

Does it also mean that what I put inside the auto comit list, will also be saved when my system performs a reboot? If so, then what is the difference with the exclusion list? I had a rather difficult time understanding the manual, so I hope I'd hear it from the users' own words.

An example of what I would like to do is to freeze the entire system but at the same time, be able to update my antivirus and/or use my download manager even when Im on shadow mode. So let's say Im on shadow mode, then update my antivirus, I want it so that when I reboot, the updates will reflect and can be seen even after reboot. And nothing else changed.