Questions re the ongoing Wireless issues

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Tabvla, May 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    In previous posts on this Forum, Acronis Support have stated that the issues around using wireless mouse/keyboard have been resolved.

    This does not appear to be correct. Can Acronis Support please provide answers to the following questions so that all Forum members can have a clear view of the current status wrt the wireless issues.

    Q1. Is this problem specific to the mouse or is it also relevant to wireless keyboards?

    Q2. Does the problem only arise when booting from the Recovery CD (which implies that the problem is specific to the Linux kernel), or is there a more general issue with wireless kbrds & mice when used with TI? Are there also issues when working from within Windows?

    Q3. Can this problem impact on both the "creation" and "restore" operations?

    Q4. What does Acronis suggest if the user does not have access to a wired kbrd and mouse?

    Q5 If the user is using a wireless kbrd will they be able to press F11 to edit the "usbmouse=off" line? Or will a wireless keyboard potentially not work and therefore the user will be unable to perform the edit?

    Q6. Considering that wireless mouse and keyboards are quickly becoming the "norm" does Acronis have a specific date by when this issue will be resolved for at least the most popular brands e.g. Microsoft and Logitech?

    o_O
     
  2. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Which version of Acronis True Image do you have installed?
    Do you have any of the problem detailed above or are these purely rhetorical questions ?
    I am sure if you have any specific problems they can be solved here either by support or the many and various expert users here.
     
  3. bigaldoc

    bigaldoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Boy, I don't know about anyone else, but I sure have a USB problem. Running Build 3633 and my Logitech cordless mouse is not intact and operating properly. I can only achieve up and down motion on the screen and have to move the mouse LATERALLY to achieve that. Moving the MOUSE forward and back does nothing. This was also true in the previous build. Before someone asks, I have verified that I have 2.6 Logitech drivers. When I boot with the TI CD, after choosing "Full" the green lights on a couple of my USB devices come on, so I think TI has activated USB but the mouse does as I've described.
     
  4. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    BigAl, sounds like you have a hub. Can you plug the mouse (and keyboard, if also usb) directly into two usb ports that are on the system and not via a hub?

    And if possible, do you have a standard mouse or keyboard to revert to?
     
  5. bigaldoc

    bigaldoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    As it turns out, I do have a USB hub but the keyboard/mouse are plugged in to the ports on the back of the machine, not the hub.

    Not sure what you mean by a "standard" mouse or keyboard, but this is a brand new Dell that has ONLY USB ports, no PS/2 style. So, yes I could plug in the corded mouse and keyboard that came with the machine but they will still be USB.

    I have about seven USB "devices" connected, so I guess another test I could do would be to remove everything except the keyboard/mouse and see what happens. Maybe Linux can't handle the load, huh?
     
  6. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    "Seven USB devices" and a hub too? Oh oh ... that's a "NO NO" with TI. Definitely disconnect all. Just keep the keyboard and mouse - hopefully TI wouldn't mind those.

    Yes, by standard I meant PS/2 style, I see that is not possible with that Dell.
     
  7. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I use a corded USB mouse on my PC with TI. It is very generic compared to wireless which obviously needs a fancier driver.

    The Linux implementation's problem is not having the optimim or any suitable drivers for some devices. Sometimes there are commands that can be issued on the linux version startup that fixes some problems.
     
  8. aarond38

    aarond38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    45
    I experience the same problem. I have a DELL E-510 with only USB connections. When I boot up with the TI CD into Linux I cannot move my wireless mouse except straight up or down! What I do to work around this is use the F11 option, delete the "quiet" when it appears in the prompt and type in "usbmouse=off" hit enter. When the command prompt comes up I
    type in "product" (both these entries are without the quotation marks) and then I have control of TI. I work within the full TI option and not the reduced version w/o drivers etc.

    This is a work around that allows me control of TI. I have cloned a HD & also made a number of images of my HD without experiencing any problems.
    Also, one can purchase a USB converter(if you have the old type & no way to connect them) to plug in a wired mouse and keyboard to their USB connection and this also helps as a workaround with the wireless difficulty. However, it would be nice if Acronis could come up with a workaround since many folks seem to have this problem with wireless mouse & keyboard.

    TI 9.0 is a wonderful product in my estimation if one will read thoroughly the instruction booklet for TI-9 and read the many forum posts written by folks that truly want to help you.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Tabvla and everyone interested,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Usually, only the mouse does not work properly. However, sometimes keyboard does not work either.

    Yes, this issue is typical for Linux based Acronis Rescue Environment only. Such problem cannot appear when Acronis True Image is running from under Windows as in this case it utilizes standard Windows drivers to work with your wireless devices. In other words, if Windows can "handle" your wireless mouse\keyboard properly then Acronis True Image can "handle" then properly as well.

    Usually, the mouse simply does or does not work. It does not matter which operation you try to perform as both backup creation and restoration wizards utilize the same graphical interface.

    As I have already mentioned many times in many other threads we recommend that you do the following:

    1. In case of using wireless mouse and non-wireless keyboard, try disabling USB Legacy Support in your computer's BIOS settings.

    2. In case both mouse and keyboard are wireless try booting with "usbmouse=off" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post (use "usbmouse=off" instead of "acpi=off noapic"). Usually, keyboard works when the selection screen advising you to select either 'Full', 'Safe' or 'Boot into Windows' option appears.

    3. If nothing helps and your wireless mouse\keyboard still does not work properly when you use Acronis True Image Bootable Rescue CD then submit a request for technical support containing the following information:

    - Create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    - Let us know the exact vendor(s) and model(s) of your mouse\keyboard;

    - Describe the mouse\keyboard behavior in detail.

    4. If you cannot create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) because your keyboard does not work when the selection screen advising you to select either 'Full', 'Safe' or 'Boot into Windows' option appears then submit a request for technical support containing the following information:

    - Create Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    - Let us know the exact vendor(s) and model(s) of your mouse\keyboard;

    - Describe the mouse\keyboard behavior in detail.

    We will investigate the issue and try to provide you with the most suitable solution as soon as possible.

    I'm afraid that the exact time frame for this issue to be resolved completely is not decided yet.

    If you encounter this sort problem using some particular mouse\keyboard, please follow the instructions above. It will certainly speed up the process of resolving this issue.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.