Questions of Threatfire

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ako, Sep 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ako

    ako Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Posts:
    627
    I did a small test of TF with 5 new malware and exploits. TF blocked them all.
    It seems TF is quite interesting though not needed by me. Some questions (I'm thinking of various setups for others):

    1) Is TF still a CPU hog?
    2) Does it work well with Comodo firewall?
    3) Does it work well with Kerio firewall?
    4) Does it work well with Avira Antivir?
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i can confirm the last one with avira:thumb:
     
  3. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    It always kills my keyboard on Vista Home Premium and Vista Basic both 32 bit.
     
  4. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    Until recently I too thought that, but it seems to depend on the system.

    Last week I installed AntiVir Personal and ThreatFire together for a friend on a Vista Home system and ThreatFire prevented the AntiVir control centre from being opened. After uninstalling ThreatFire, the AntiVir control centre could be opened.

    I reinstalled ThreatFire just to check and got the same result. After uninstalling ThreatFire for a second time, AntiVir again worked normally.

    I've used this combination on my own XP Pro system without a problem, so maybe it's a problem with some Vista configurations.
     
  5. dell boy

    dell boy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    240
    Location:
    uk, england
    1. from my experience no
    2. from my experience yes
    3. havent used it before
    4. from my experience yes
    its always been good to me in the past when i used it, but some people found big problems with it...
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i think it is with vista cause with xp it is ok:thumb:
     
  7. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    I think you're probably right. :)
     
  8. dell boy

    dell boy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    240
    Location:
    uk, england
    ive used it on vista without problems, and wait you cannot possibly blame an OS for problems with 3rd party software, if there is a problem with a specific OS then it has been designed wrong and needs to be fixed.
    anyways there new version is in beta.
     
  9. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    I agree and I wasn't trying to imply that, which is why I said the problem may occur with some Vista configurations: i.e. the O/S plus all of the 3rd party software running on the machine.

    It's possible that conflicts could also occur on non-Vista systems, depending on the 3rd-party software installed. Having said that, I've installed a combination of ThreatFire and AntiVir on quite a few different XP systems and I've never seen them conflict before, so generally speaking they do seem to run quite well together on Windows XP.
     
  10. progress

    progress Guest

    You can find the poll here :)
     
  11. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,127
    Location:
    USA
    .
    Performance seems to vary depending on the system. The last time I tried it I had significant browsing slowdowns. That was a while ago though so can't comment on the latest version. Regarding setting it up for others, I would only do so on systems that I had easy access to in case there were problems. I think Mamutu is a more reliable alternative, but of course it's not freeware.
     
  12. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    After installing or after removing? Sometimes it leaves the keyboard filter (TfKbMon) enabled but removes the driver (TfKbMon.sys) which can render your keyboard inoperable.

    Open:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E96B-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}

    and either delete TfKbMon from the upperfilters (if you've deleted TF) or make sure the driver is installed and running (if you just installed it).
     
  13. ako

    ako Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Posts:
    627
    Huh, I have to have a second thought due to this poll and all the good comments here. :'(
     
  14. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Depends on your system. I've had it installed on several computers without a problem.

    There's a ThreatFire removal tool available that works well. I might try the latest version.
     
  15. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    this is true what you say and also comodo antivirus on high heuristics does it too:D
     
  16. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    I have played around with the 4.6 beta on Vista 64 bits and I am pleased to say it has (again) the kill process option (besides quarantain). It also felt really light, although it seemed to use quite some CPU time, at least more CPU time than I expected. Still system felt crispy (no peek CPU problably).
     
  17. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Hi Kees

    I am overwhelmed as well as shocked they finally added some feature improvements long long overdue for years now.

    Since your thread on Custom Rules at TF Forums is still in place, and coputer cops is no more, was wondering if you get some free spare time to post your rules maybe right here for others also to benefit from and who knows, like Alcyon did with EQS, maybe up the bar on several new rules to really enhance this latest TF which i can finally breath now they given it the attention it always deserved and have released it with some POWERHOUSE features given it's Intelligence Type Auto Sub-Routines that is thrilling and a relief to find now in this program.
     
  18. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Easter

    I will when they release the final 4.6,

    The extra registry protection auto run rules and how to put a second constraint around iron (so you will be sure it only downloads to the specified download directory, might some malware break iron's sandbox) same for IE8.

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2009
  19. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Sounds encouraging Kees1958

    I found the beta TF heads and tails well beyond from where it's been and now is on the verge of taking on a whole new meaning in SMART BEHAVIORAL BLOCKING at it's best.

    Thanks and Keep Up The Good Work Friend ;)

    EASTER (Now & Always)
     
  20. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    For a smart behavioural blocker, like your term EASTER, it is one solid application.

    Good to see the new improvements - most likely because of EASTER and others here. Might have to install the beta version. :thumb:
     
  21. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    its good, but the beta is very buggy for me.
     
  22. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    AHh ok. I'll wait then. :)
     
  23. morgrum

    morgrum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    If you've got Comodo Firewall with Defense+, you don't need TF, but if you're wanting the least necessary interaction, TF is the way to go IMO instead.

    I have read reports of problems with Vista + TF + Avira, but with XP, not so many bad reports.

    Avira tends to be a bit slower than, say, AVG, but its Avira's real-time detection rates are way better in most areas than most others.

    I've been cleaning up a nasty rootkit over the past few days, and TF is the only thing that really stopped the rk processes from doing their evil work (Spybot, Spyware Doctor, and AVG all let the evil through).
     
  24. progress

    progress Guest

    TF 4.5 doesn't have the "deny" option - am I right? :rolleyes:
     
  25. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Correct - this is new for v4.6 specifically, even though it should be called "kill only" and not "deny" since that's what it actually is; a killer! lol :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.