Questions about Firefox

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rmus, Apr 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    I downloaded FF last evening to do some testing of web sites.

    1. Why does FF want to connect out without my instigating a connection? Upon launching FF, I see these attempts:

    ffox-google1.gif


    ffox-google2.gif

    If I permit the first, a Firefox Start page with Google displays. If I permit the second, nothing displays.

    I don't know what is triggering these connections.


    2.Where does FF store cached pages? I was not able to find a cache directory in the Mozilla directories.

    In Opera, the Page Info gives me the cached filename in case I want to retrieve it.

    operaPageInfo.gif


    thanks,

    rich
     
  2. yeow

    yeow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Posts:
    225
    1. Could be downloading list of suspected attack sites etc, options found in Tools>Options>Security

    2. Try "about:cache" in address bar
     
  3. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Change to start on a blank page.


    Cache location depends on the operating system.
     
  4. Judge Dee

    Judge Dee Guest

    Type "about:cache?device=disk" without the quotes into the FF url bar.
    You'll see the cache directory 4th line down.
    Plus, this is where you browse the cache, as its encrypted.
     
  5. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Cool. :thumb:

    Also, apparently about:cache?device=memory
     
  6. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    Thanks for the tips!

    I did change my start page to Blank but the outbound connections continue. Checking for websites sounds logical, but I think that should be specified somewhere so that the user will know, since these days people are concerned about their applications connecting back to the vendor's site. I noticed also the FF connects regularly for RSS feeds, but users know that when they sign up for the feeds.


    I found out that my Cache directory appears in the Firefox Profile directory:

    C:\Documents and Settings\........\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\jj3bvb13.default\Cache

    But that directory does not appear in Windows Explorer:


    ffx-cacheExpl.gif

    After some fiddling I was able to get the directory to display:


    ffx-cacheExplContents.gif


    Now, FF Help states this about the Cache:

    This is misleading, for these pages are formatted for FF internal viewing, rather than copies of the original pages. So that is why FF keeps the cache directory from displaying in Explorer: you can't read the files from this location. This is probably why FF makes no reference to a cached file in Page Info.

    As several mentioned, you read the pages from within FF:


    ffx-aboutCache.gif


    ffx-cache.gif

    This is quite useless if I want to retrieve a cached file to study the code, for it is all squished up in a narrow column at the right. Not only that, I can't sort by date or file type; for instance if I want to see the Javascript pages that were cached.

    Hopefully some FF experts will point out something I've missed!

    So when I use FF to check some web sites, I have to also open the sites in Opera in order to retrieve pages later for studying the code.

    operaCacheDisplay.gif

    Another question I neglected to ask: is there an option to choose an external viewer for the Page Source? I couldn't find any reference to this in the Help file. I like to open the Page Source in an HTML editor.

    thanks,

    ----
    rich
     
  7. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Rich, did you try View - Page Source?
    And of course, you can File - Save Page As .
     
  8. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Not my Firefox.
     
  9. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    Rmus, Firefox may also call out to check on updates. The options are under Tools - Options - Advanced and look in the Update tab.
     
  10. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
  11. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    How did you disable connecting for feeds?

    Yes, but there is no option to choose your own viewer, as in Opera:

    operaViewer.gif

    Yes, but that requires three extra steps: Save, navigate to file, and open in HTML editor.



    ----
    rich
     
  12. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    Ah that's it. Thanks. I confess to not having looked at that tab!

    ----
    rich
     
  13. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I do not define any to Firefox; I do not use Firefox as an RSS reader.
     
  14. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Perhaps an extension?
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/394

    Or
    http://www.webmasterworld.com/firefox_browser/3376948.htm
     
  15. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    I hope you realize you suggested that I do something that might void my warranty:


    ff-AboutConfig.gif

    Well, I gave it serious thought and promised that I would be careful, and made the configuration change. FF didn't catch on fire or anything, so I assume all is well!

    Great tip. Thanks,

    ----
    rich
     
  16. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,912
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Rmus, since you like to look at code, may I suggest 2 Firefox add-ons:

    Web Developer | Firebug

    I find them indispensable when looking at a Web page.
     
  17. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    Thanks for the suggestions!

    ----
    rich
     
  18. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello rich,

    Nice to see you exploring FF :)

    The initial connections are for the startpage. Other connections you may see are the extensions updates check and the browser update check.

    You can also create several profiles - each will be stored in a different directories, so you can have a completely different subset of extensions, bookmarks, themes etc.

    There should be an extension for page sources :) FF 3.1 also supports clickable links in the HTML sources.

    I suggest you start playing with extensions, they are the true power of Firefox.

    Regards,
    Mrk
     
  19. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    Thanks Mrk for the information!

    ----
    rich
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.