questions about dr.web

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by WSFuser, Dec 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    1. Are the default settings good? Does anyone tweak them?

    2. How does Dr.Web's use such little memory? Its seems unreal.

    2007-12-28_215602.png
     
  2. solcroft

    solcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,639
    By consuming 40mb of virtual memory instead. Simple.
     
  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    3. How do I remove the Dr.Web item in the context menu?
     
  4. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    The DF settings for the SpIDer Guard are generally sufficient for most users. Although different users have different tweaks the default settings are adequate.

    However, the on-demand scanner settings may need tweaking as it is a very slow scanner. After running a full scan you can then simply choose the Express scan or deselect archives/ enable selected types in the file settings.

    In addition you may want to look at the Scheduler settings and change them to check more frequently. For example I have it set to check every 30 minutes for updates.

    And I do not use SpIDerMail.

    Are you using Vista?

    On a WIN XP box here, I have 3 processes; spidernt.exe, spiderui.exe and drwebscd.exe taking up only about 7MB VM.
     
  5. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    I use default settings and Acknowledge = No in drweb32.ini for SpiderGuard so the update balloon doesn't popup. Silentmode of some sort. .. I don't use SpiderMail either and have all other tray icons off except the SpiderGuard's.
     
  6. cdr

    cdr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    143
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC USA
    :) Risl, I'm curious about something: My Dr. Web update does not give any notification at all that it has been updated--or maybe I just have never noticed it. o_O Is there a way to set it so that an "update balloon" pops up and shows that it has updated? BTW, I'm using Windows XP Home Edition SP2. Thanks for any advice!
    Regarding WSFuser's question, I generally leave most settings at default for Dr. Web. I have changed it to update every 15 minutes. However, I do use SpiderMail, and I do have it check for riskware, hacktools and jokes.
    I'm not too concerned about it taking about 70 minutes to do a complete on-demand scan, so I leave the settings at default for that. The only icon I hide in the tray is the scheduler icon. That's it!
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2007
  7. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499

    Ive noticed a few users of dr web dont use the spider mail.Is this because of choice or is there any sort of problems that goes with spidermail.?.I ask as a possible future trialler/user.... not to knock it.
    ellison
     
  8. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Hi ellison,
    I have always used spidermail never a problem,It as stop me getting nasty e-mail many times.
    Badcompany. :thumb:
     
  9. Malcontent

    Malcontent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    I don't use Spider Mail by choice. I don't feel an e-mail scanner is need because Dr. Web is set to scan ALL files. So, if some malware was received via e-mail, Dr. Web's Spider Guard will catch it as it's written to disk/executes. Also, my connection to my e-mail server is SLL encrypted. No mail scanner can scan SLL connections, except Kaspersky. Spam is filtered on the server level for me.
    Without Spider Mail, Dr. Web runs even lighter.
     
  10. shorty1

    shorty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Vermont
    Speaking for myself, I don't use spider mail because I don't feel the need for it. I
    get very little junk mail and they are almost never opened. I always view plain text, and, of course, I never open attachments without scanning them first. I also don't use the scheduler because in my mind it uses too much memory and everything it does can be done with the Windows built-in Task Scheduler.
     
  11. Malcontent

    Malcontent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    When Dr. Web updates, a notice balloon does pop up from the system tray but only stays up for about 10 seconds and then goes away.

    You can check if Dr. Web updated by right clicking on the Dr. Web tray icon and then click on "About" buttom. You can see what was updated, definitions and program files. You can see the date and time of any updates.
     
  12. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    update balloon is automatic, if you have the spiderguard icon showing in your taskbar.

    default settings are fine, although i definatly like to change things.

    i enable all to report, including the items that are set to ignore by default, as i prefer full control.

    spidermail is un-installed on my machine, as i now use SSL encrypted email, and spidermail along with nearly every AV, just wont scan them. (apart from kaspersky i think)

    after a full scan on all files/archives, which will take some time, you can select the following:

    untick archives
    choose 'selected types' in the scanner.

    then you can run express scans (always), and they will be fast.

    noticeably unchecking archives and email files will reduce the scanning speed dramatically, just do this if you wish to keep scanner/guard on all files, and you will still notice great improvement.

    spidermail will work on any email client, even those rare programs nobody has heard of, it however... does not work for an SSL connection.
     
  13. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    Check it by updating manually, it should pop up.
     
  14. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Is the scheduler needed to get (automatic) updates?
    No I have XP Pro SP2.
     
  15. gyl

    gyl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    no the scheduler is not necessary,dr web updates every hour (dixit dr web forum)
     
  16. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    really, i thought it was needed for XP or below :blink:

    for vista, drweb uses vistas own scheduler so is not needed.

    thats what i thought :cautious:

    i aint at my computer at the moment, so cant check this.
     
  17. gyl

    gyl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    I thougt too,but i've asked to dr web and they h've replied me that dr web i
    update once a hour by default ,I'd precised under xp sp2;never the less I use scheduler every 40 minutes
     
  18. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Thanks for the info.

    Also may someone answer my question about the context menu?

     
  19. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    If the program doesn't have option itself about context menu integration , Microsoft Autoruns is the one that will do the job for you :thumb:
     
  20. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    You might need to remove it from registry, this might be handy: http://windowsxp.mvps.org/context_folders.htm
     
  21. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    is there a reason why you dont want it?
     
  22. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Which tab should I check? Edit: Its the explorer tab.

    I found drwsxtn.dll is responsible for the context item so I just unregistered that dll.
    I dont use it and Id rather not bloat my context menu.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2007
  23. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    people moan when they dont get it, people moan when they do.

    :rolleyes:

    lol
     
  24. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Yup :D

    Dr.Web should have an option to enable/disable the context menu. Best of both worlds.
     
  25. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I would rather remove other entries.

    I find that the AV context-menu scanner is very useful when checking downloaded files.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.