Questions about Baidu and Kingsoft

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by zmechys, Mar 2, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    usa
    Questions.

    1. If Baidu is taking over Kingsoft AV, is AV-Comparatives going to test the Baidu antivirus or Kingsoft?

    2. If Baidu AV is using an engine from Avira, why Baidu antivirus is compatible with Windows 8 while Avira is still having issues with Windows 8?

    3. Why there are two web-sites of Baidu AV:
    http://antivirus.baidu.com/en/
    and
    http://sd.baidu.com/en/

    4. If Baidu company promises that their antivirus is/will be "Free Forever", does it really mean "conquering the AV market".
     
  2. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    1. Not really sure. That's up to them. Sometimes they test older version because that's what they've set out to test.

    2. They are using the Engine and Sigs. There might be something in Avira that isn't compatible with Win 8.

    3. Redirect from a different site. Also so it might show up in different search engines.

    4. I'm sure their trying to get their name out there first and then add a Paid suite later. Bait and switch. Get them in for the free version and then offer them something bigger and better.

    This posting is merely my opinion and by no means should be taken for fact. ;)
     
  3. spywar

    spywar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    Paris
    A question from me :

    Why do they use Kaspersky's engine without mentioning it anywhere ?
     
  4. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    How do they use kaspersky's engine? How did you figure that they are using it?
     
  5. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
  6. spywar

    spywar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    Paris
    Most of the detections are Kaspersky signs ..
     
  7. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Using Win8 x64 with Avira enabled no BSODs or problems.
     
  8. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    usa
    http://www.avira.com/en/support-for-home-knowledgebase-detail/kbid/1385

    "All Avira products are running on Windows 8 and Server 2012 respectively, but they are not yet certified.
    We are working very hard to receive the Windows 8 logo for all our products as soon as possible."
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.