Questions about Antivir free updates( version8)

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by aigle, May 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,109
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Anu Antivir free users pls:

    - On default settings, does the updates include only virus definitions or programme updates as well? I assume it will only update the definitions.

    - How are the updates on dialup? If by default it updates only definitions, then updates must be smaller n smoother than in the past.

    - Does it gives any notifications to update the program itself ( assuming that it will only update the definitions)? If so, is it possible to disable these notifications?

    - Also just updating the virus definitions will be enough? I mean any side effects of it except for less detection rate? Will the software itself continue working OK?

    Thanks
     
  2. solcroft

    solcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,639
    I'm not too sure about most of your questions, but I'd just like to chime in something here. Not performing program updates with Avira is a big mistake, as most of its generic detection routines are actually not included with the signature databases and coded directly into the scanning engine itself. (Why? Take a wild guess. :shifty:). The routines get refined and upgraded continually, so you should definitely perform program upgrades as well.
     
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,109
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I know that already but that makes updates bigger and leads to troubles while on dial up. It,s the only reason I don,t install Avira for my my friends.
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,889
    I'm not 100% sure, but I'm pretty sure that the program updates roll thru there with the regular def updates when the time comes, so it could be a problem on dial-up, also considering the sad state of their update servers for the free version. I use Avira Premium without problems though..
     
  5. ggf31416

    ggf31416 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    314
    Location:
    Uruguay
    There are 3 options:
    Download and install product updates automatically
    Notify user if product updates are available (Notify once again after _ days)
    Do not download product updates

    According to the help file updates to the search engine are indepedent of this setting.
     
  6. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    10,283
    Location:
    UK
    After getting a popup about program updates, went in and did them.

    311 KBytes this time, 3 files, took just a few seconds. Yes I am on broadband but not a high speed one.
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,109
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    What is by default?

    I just checked, I think these are program updates not the virus definitions but not sure.
    U mean the AV engine?
    Its updates are done automatically or by pop up with user interactuion? Where are the settings for it?

    See the pic I attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    Actually, the scan engine will be updated with the signatures by normal updating. Product/program updates change parts of the GUI and other non-detection related components.
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,109
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks Stefan!

    So if I opt for " Don,t download product updates" , it is not going to decrease the security offered by Antivir in any way. Am I true?
     
  10. Leo2005

    Leo2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Braunschweig (Germany)
    well depends on the program udpate. the programm updates wich will come in a closer time should be bugfixes. would be better to install those for running antivir without problems.
     
  11. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,109
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks Leo. Are u related to Antivir?
     
  12. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,202
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Very much so.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.