Question re: NOD32

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by fce, May 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    i want to try nod32, but i have some question:

    - hows the nod32 compatability with vista, anybody experience bsod?
    - what's the best firewall combination with nod32?
    - currently im using pccillin IS 2007, anybody knows what's the difference of two (except pccillin c/w firewall)
    - advises before trying nod32....
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Works brilliant , no problems , max protection.

    NOD32 works with any firewall you wish . I would recommend you use Windows Firewall.

    NOD32 is lighter , faster and with better detection . NOD32 have one of the best (if not the best) heuristic technologies to find new unknown viruses/malware.More here

    Make sure you have removed all previous AVs .
    Download trial version from Trial version
     
  3. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    thanks h-tech boy.

    anybody knows how can i "totally" remove my previous AV (Pccillin, Ksapersky) aside from unisntallation.

    i have superantispyware and spywarebuster installed, do i need to turn off this 2 software before installing nod32?

    SAS pro+SB+nod33, hows the combination of this 3?

    thanks guys!
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    You are welcome !

    Kaspersky will be completely removed by uninstallion.
    PCCilin , too , but Trend Micro might have problems , should there is a need , download Trend Micro's removal tool

    No.

    You also need a firewall.
     
  5. AshG

    AshG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    East TN
    FCE,

    I hope I can be of some help here. I would suggest doing the following:
    1. Download Tune-Up Utilities Trial Edition, CCleaner, and NOD32 trial.
    2. Turn off your internet connection when these files are downloaded.
    3. Uninstall your old antivirus solution, then reboot your computer.
    4. Install and run CCleaner (both the Cleaner and Issues modules), then install and run Tune-Up Utilities 2007 Trial (the Registry Cleaner module). Reboot your machine. All old registry entries should now be gone.
    5. Disable your antispyware software and turn your internet connection back on. Do not open a web browser! You can leave these programs on during installation, I turn them off to totally minimize any conflicts from occuring.
    6. Install the NOD32 trial and follow the directions. Reboot when finished.
    7. When your computer has finished booting, make sure your antispyware programs have started back up. Happy computing!
    I hope that helps. You might want to uninstall Tune-Up Utilities when this is over, but you've got 30 days to make use of it. I recommend keeping CCleaner around as it is fast, free, small, and very effective at keeping your system sparkling.
     
  6. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758

    thanks for your suggestion.

    btw, what is the purpose of CCLeaner and Tune up utilities? is this for my existing AV only?
     
  7. AshG

    AshG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    East TN

    CCleaner and Tune-Up utilities will remove any old registry entries left over after you uninstall your old AV. They will also clean up any mess from any other software you've ever uninstalled. I've found my systems to be a lot more responsive when I use these two programs after I do a lot of file movement, program installation/uninstallation, and other various system activities.

    Both programs also have effective and easy registry backup, so you can go back if you don't like a change.
     
  8. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    thanks again!

    are you using NOD32? whats your firewall or whats the best firewall compatible to nod32 (except windows firewall)?
     
  9. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    ok.

    i do system restore once in my computer when i have problem with HIPS program thats cause blue screen error (?). any effect or problem if i used this cclean and tune up.
     
  10. AshG

    AshG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    East TN
    Several NOD32 users find Comodo to be a good, free firewall selection.
     
  11. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    I don't think Comodo has a Vista version yet unless if there is a beta out there.
     
  12. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    i installed NOD32 and run in-depth analysis.

    i noticed theres log "Error occured while scanning active boot sector of the 1. physical disk. Error reading sector"

    NOD32.EXE: Status OK

    Operating memory is OK.

    - anybody knows whats that error?

    - aside from comodo firewall (which is not yet Vista ready), anybody can suggest good personal firewall that work with NOD32?
     
  13. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Check here for answers to questions you may have.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=150856
     
  14. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    thanks for the link.

    i can't find the information for error message "Error occured while scanning active boot sector of the 1. physical disk. Error reading sector"

    maybe i have a bad boot sector?
     
  15. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
  16. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
  17. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    Time Module Event User
    5/24/2007 6:00:07 AM Update Function: gethostbyname, parameters: , return value: 11004


    i copy this from event log, whats does it means?

    i got this log after i follow "extra setting for nod32 v2.7" thread and installed jetico firewall.
     
  18. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hi again !

    Yes , I use NOD32 on all my computers.

    I use Windows Firewall only.

    If you want an all in one product , why don't you try ESET Smart Security - the next generation . It includes the NOD32 improved engine , firewall and anti-spam protection.
    http://www.eset.com/beta
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/forumdisplay.php?f=18
     
  19. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Of course Hitech_boy uses NOD32, he is a reseller and it is his duty and livelihood to promote NOD32 and defend it to the end :)

    Try ESS if you want an all in one security suite, but IMO its good enough using a good free firewall with NOD32.
     
  20. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    So what's the problem ?!
     
  21. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Nothing. If there was a problem, there wouldn't be a smile at the end of that message (instead there would be a rolling eyes symbol) :) :D
     
  22. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    bump....
     
  23. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I've had this error in the past, but it never affected the functionality of NOD32. Automatic updates worked as normal, so don't worry about this. :)
     
  24. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
  25. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.