Question re: G DATA AntiVirus 2008

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by mrm1233, Nov 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mrm1233

    mrm1233 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Hello.

    I have just purchased and installed Gdata AntiVirus 2008. I had read that it is a "resource hog," but, because it has been reviewed so positively, I went ahead and installed it.

    My question is this: does a "resource hog" refer to the fact that this piece of software tends to slow down the system of the pc? For example, we have a very fast processor and a cable connection to the Internet. Previous to installing Gdata AntiVirus 2008 we connected to the Internet in 1 to 2 seconds. Now, with Gdata, it takes anywhere from 10 to 25 seconds to connect.

    If it is the Gdata software that is slowing the pc down then I will consider removing it and trying to get my money back.

    Thank you.
     
  2. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    yes that's it. It is very safe but it does slow down
     
  3. Hangetsu

    Hangetsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    259
    Quick answer is "maybe" :D

    The big things one has to watch out for with regards to performance is: Processor utilization, Memory utilization, Disk access, Web access (scanning speed). Of course there's other things that more knowledgeable people here will know. Also, while most care about these things during regular PC use, others may care even during scheduled / ad hoc scans (personally I schedule full scans for at night, so I don't).

    Of course, the most important thing is security :D, but its up to the individual to determine their best fit of risk and performance. This is why there really is no "best xxx security software", as they all fit in differently to the risk / performance matrix.

    The fastest PC is one without any security software, but then you run some serious risks if you're not careful :D
     
  4. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    honestly i thought the antivirus 2008 was quite nice on the system.
     
  5. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Sorry to hear this :doubt:

    1. Did you purchase GDAV without trying it first? o_Oo_Oo_O ...there is always a trial version man!
    2. Maybe you need to tweak it a little. Read this and check out my post #5.
     
  6. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    Tried it plus the hole suite...took it of within a day....wayyy too heavy and slow for my temper.
    Pretty expensive as well, 85 USD o_O or is it just me?. I know you pay for 2 AV's (Avast + Kaspersky), but still :D

    Cheers
     
  7. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    im finding these comments quite strange,

    i found 2008 antivirus (not the suite) quite light for system performance.
     
  8. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    I never liked suites, the AV is fine to me :)
     
  9. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    most software can be found for cheaper :)
     
  10. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    You're right, but it's just the feeling of it, you know, when you're opening browser(s)/programs etc. It takes not forever, but just longer time than with other AV's, like Kaspersky, NOD, Symantec, etc....maybe you just have to keep it for a week or two and then decide?! I'm not trying to make G Data look bad, it's just not for me. :)

    Cheers
     
  11. mrm3601

    mrm3601 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Posts:
    66

    Thank you all for your comments. Macstorm: I will take a look at the link you indicated and I will let you know what my experience has been.

    Thank you again.
     
  12. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    You're welcome, yes please let us know if things get better :)
     
  13. Solaris

    Solaris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    54
    Hi,

    I have purchased G Data Antivirus some days ago. Works like a dream on my system. Of course, this antivirus is not the lightest, but it’s very reasonable.
    For my experience, when I double-click on a picture to open it (IrfanView), this action is faster than with DrWeb (4.44)....for example.

    Like says Macstorm : simplicity & effectiveness. :)

    If you find GDATA too heavy, you can run with only one engine (and scheduled sometime a scan with the both engines ..it’s a solution).

    I feel very safe with it, and this, it’s without price, for me.

    I don't have this problems. It seems to me wrong, regardless of the processor (but perhaps not enough memory?)
     
  14. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    i remember MAC posting a cheaper price for all interested:

    here
     
  15. mrm3601

    mrm3601 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    I have decided to remove Gdata Antivirus 2008, although I did follow up on Macstorm's suggested tweaks.

    The reason why I didn't give it any longer is because my pc progressively slowed down day by day ever since I was using it, to the point where I was waiting minutes to get onto the Internet.

    I'm now using a trial of Kaspersky V. 7. I very much like NOD32 but I'm wary of trying Version 3 yet. But, some time will pass and we'll see what happens.

    Thank you again.
     
  16. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    It may be your softw/hardw config. environment. I don't suffer any delay accessing to internet.
    Sorry I couldn't be of more help :doubt:
     
  17. mrm3601

    mrm3601 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Posts:
    66

    Thanks for your help, Macstorm.

    I have no problems with software/hardware configuration.

    Thanks again!
     
  18. Delgado

    Delgado Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    131
    I had G Data Antivirus 2008 pick up Trojan.win32.Gorshok.a-it said it was in System Restore, also it picked up Clnr0,dll, which was in G data Avast folder.

    What the hell! How can it pick up a virus in its own folders?


    o_O
     
  19. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    how are you liking kis so far? just curious
     
  20. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    disabling/reenabling SR will get rid of the trojan (harmless into SR) for good.
    As for the .dll thing, was it detected by the avast engine(B)? Most likely it's a FP.
     
  21. Delgado

    Delgado Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    131
    I dont know which engine picked it up, Ive got both enabled. The file has been put in quarantine. If its a false positive-should I click on restore. Has this messed up the prog by this quarantine of a file from G Data?

    o_O
     
  22. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    No, it's ok while on quarantine, you can submit the file to avast (or kaspersky) for analysis, just in case.
    By viewing the gdata logs you'll know which engine has picked it up.
     
  23. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    618
    It was a FP in the Kaspersky engine, and it was fixed yesterday.
     
  24. Delgado

    Delgado Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    131

    Thanks for reply.

    The two files are now in quarantine, shall I restore them back then?

    Thanks for your answer.

    o_O
     
  25. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    yes restore.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.