Question re Acronis TI v10 Home and Win x64

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by MarkC, Nov 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MarkC

MarkC Registered Member

I recently upgraded to a PC running Windows XP pro x64 version (64 bit). Yesterday I purchased Acronis TI Home v 10 since it is compatible with this operating system. Everything seems to be working fine – the program successfully made and verified image files of all my drives, and also made a bootable CD that works. I was able to selectively restore test data files, so the backup archives look to be good. I backup onto IDE drives in Vantec removable drive caddies, and I’m happy with how fast TI 10 is on this setup (much faster than my old setup.)

One thing has me wondering, though…. The program installed in the ‘program files(x86)’ folder, which under Win X64 is where 32 bit applications go. I’m not a techie, but I thought that the whole problem with drivers, backup software, anti-virus software, and other system tools on x64 is that they needed to be native 64 bit Windows programs. Again – not being all that technical – I thought that a 32 bit app running in 32 bit emulation mode couldn’t perform certain tasks because its sitting in a virtual machine “on top” of Win64.

Short of wiping my hard drive an attempting a restore, I don’t know how I can test the backup further. It’s conceivable that a 32 bit app running in a virtual 32 bit machine might think everything is fine, when in fact its not.

So… to get to the point: Should Acronis TI Home v 10, installed on a Winodws x64 setup, be in the program files(x86) directory, or should it be installed as a native 64 bit app?

Thanks in advance –

Mark C.

2. Xpilot

Xpilot Registered Member

Hello Mark C.

What caught my eye in your post is that you use removable drive caddies to store your images.