Question on Rollback RX/EAZ-FIX...

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by napoleon1815, Apr 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    These products are the same, correct? So does it matter which one you buy (Eaz Solution or Horizon Datasys)? Not sure if support is better between the sister companies, etc., or if it matters. Thanks.
     
  2. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,054
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    I've used them both... they are the same product. There may be a slight difference in their released versions (one older than another) but they are minor releases.

    The Rollback RX product seems the be the most up to date as far as releases go... but just pick the bargain amongst the two if yer gonna take the plunge.
     
  3. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    Great, thanks. Thinking about it. Before I joined this blog I had zero interest in the products, but I'm warming up to it. I can see it as a great way to protect the kids computer at least. Thanks.
     
  4. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,054
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    I can't even begin to tell you how useful this product has been to me. I don't just use snapshots to protect myself... I have set up "forks" of operation within the Rollback framework. Three main forks... the MAIN system (where I do my day to day stuff), the EVALUATION system where I try products and goodies for both myself and others, and the WILD system where the system sits in the wild and gobbles up virii and adware to see what effect they have on the system.

    The WILD fork is where I use the Rollback function the most and the EVALUATION fork is 2nd. I could never do this without a reliable snapshot product... Rollback RX was the first one I tried (after a bad experience with CTM).

    Good luck!
     
  5. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    Thanks. Sounds like you have a good setup. It seems that Eaz-Fix is almost $20 cheaper than Rollback RX, which is why I was concerned maybe Rollback RX was better or had more options. Seems like a high price delta for the same product from the same company...
     
  6. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Fwiw, v9.1 is now 'long in the tooth' with a v10 release promised within the next few months. So you might want to check out the upgrade policies for EAZ-FIX vs Rollback Rx. ;)
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2011
  7. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    Will do thanks. I might pass on it...not a fan of not being able to defrag my hard drive after install for one, as well as imaging limitations. I will do the due diligence and trial it out on my older laptop I use for testing.
     
  8. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,132
    Considering that defrag does nothing at all to protect the system and may only have a minor effect on system performance unless you have gone a long time between defrags, and that the only imaging limitation is that if you want to image with Rx installed you need to do a sector by sector image,,,,,,,you are giving up a great deal of protection and convenience for very little return.

    Just my opinion of course, but it is an opinion built upon experience.
     
  9. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    I've gone a long, long time with CTM and Eaz-Fix between uninstall and defrag. Also made way more than normal snapshots and restores. The hard drive is never fragmented.
     
  10. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    What I understand with NTFS, the hard drive barely get fragmented.
     
  11. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    I run a manual full defrag every week and don't use any backgound defragging in the interim. My hard drive is anywhere from 16-30% defragged after I analyze it.
     
  12. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Just out of curiosity, is it NTFS?
     
  13. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    Yes...it is NTFS running Windows 7 64-bit. I don't even use it that much, but even the simple task of installing or removing an application creates defragmentation. Once a week I run a full defrag, then use IFL or DS to snap an offline image.
     
  14. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Windows 7 x64 has a built in defrag, which runs automatically on schedule. The first thing I do, I turn if off, after a clean install.

    I install and uninstall lots of programs and delete so much. But whenever, I try to defrag with Perfect Disk 11, it shows only 1.6 defrag.

    BTW, Perfect Disk 11 is not set to automatically defrag either.

    Best regards.
     
  15. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    You bring up a good point. I don't have any 3rd party defrag tool. I'm on x86 and to the best of my knowledge, the Win 7 auto defrag is turned off. Every now and then, I see in Event Viewer that auto defrag has run. Is Event Viewer just reporting that the scheduled task started and ended without running or is it actually running it? Is there any way to tell?
     
  16. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    If you right click on the drive and then go to properties and then to the Tools tabs, in the middle is the "Defragment now". If the auto defrag is turned off, when you click "Defragment now", then you should get the error, that it is turned off.
     
  17. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    Ok, yes it is off. I guess Event Viewer is just reporting that the scheduled task is starting/ending without running it.
     
  18. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    lol, you got me there. Have no clue at all.

    However, is your hard drive very fragmented?

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  19. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    zero percent on all drives/partitions
     
  20. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    so is there a way to use rollbackrx with a live imaging solution like acronis? this would be awesome if possible
     
  21. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    From what I understand, in order to keep all your snapshots you need to do a full sector (or sector-by-sector) image instead of just imaging the used sectors.
     
  22. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Absolutely treehouse - if you are using ATI v10 or later. Just bootup with the ATI's Linux CD, select your C-Drive/Partition, be sure to check the sector-by-sector method and you're good to go. In this way you will capture your entire RB environment, including all snapshots.

    Aaron
     
  23. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,054
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    I'm not sure what you mean by "live" imaging. If you mean using a Windows task under the Rollback RX protected Windows environment to do the imaging (what I call HOT imaging), the answer is yes but only with the "Image For Windows" product and only with a carefully executed REGISTRY tweak.

    If you're talking "off line," ie. not under the protected Windows environment but under a Linux/DOS/WinPE/BartPE BOOTable environment, what Aaron Here states is correct. And most likely any imager that will allow you to image ALL sectors (used and unused) will be successful in saving a complete RBRX environment.
     
  24. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    yes sorry i meant hot imaging. if it possible for IFW with a reg tweak then why has no one else provided a built in solution? i am surprised acronis have not implemented native support for this.
     
  25. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    and i know rollback rx has been bypassed in the past so what would be more safer to test software in? rollback rx or virtual box? please dont say both at same time:D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.