Question for Moderators....

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by DarrenDavisLeeSome, May 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Um....

    I've got Windows 7 RC 7100 x64 set up with my own little version of XP Mode on it.

    Can I install ESS on a Virtual Machine OS and get all the updates and such with my current 1 User license on the host system that has ESS installed on it? Or do I need to purchase another User license. Or do I even need any Antivirus or Security applications installed on it if I intend to surf the internet with it? I'm not sure how far the Integration of XPVM with the Windows 7 host goes as far as protecting the Virtual Machine with the host's Antivirus/Security apps.
     
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    You don't really need a AV just enable w7's firewall, but yes it's allowed to use your license.
     
  3. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Wow...never know you were a Moderatort Funky. Congradulations!!

    So, you're saying that I can have ESS installed on both the Virtual Machine and the Host Machine with my current 1 User license. And there won't be any conflicts since I now have it installed on 2 Machines (2 USERS)....?

    Again, congradulations on becoming a Moderator.
     
  4. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    It's "congratulations", and if you don't want help from the public, why are you posting in a public forum? Think before you leap, there's a PM system for a reason smart guy.
     
  5. wrathchild

    wrathchild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Neoplantesis
    lol :D
     
  6. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    (Off topic I know). Hmm it might have been a play on words, as in, graduate (to) and misspelt French cheese :D (oh that's gratin not gratulate :argh: )
     
  7. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Hello,

    I believe that there have been other threads started about similar topics and I think 1 license is for one computer so you should be able to.


    Why wouldn't you need an AV though? Is the 7 firewall really that good?

    Regards,

    Mark.
     
  8. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852

    No, I was meaning in regards to the fact it's a test VM. Firstly, it's a test, so it probably won't be used that much, secondly, if it does get infected, you just restore a point.
     
  9. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Sorry for the smart-ass remark a while back Funky.

    Had a wild hair up my _ _ _ .

    Windows 7 has been making me climb the walls alot lately.

    I think I gots it running OK now....I hope.
     
  10. elyoh

    elyoh Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    One licence per currently running operating system would be more correct. I queried ESET support via e-mail on this one as the "per computer" statement is ambiguous. Their response conflicts with what xMarkx says.

    Quote from e-mail:
    "1) Dual boot configurations - 1 licence will cover both operating systems as you can only run one operating system at a time.
    2) Virtual PC environments - You will need 1 licence per operating system as there are more than 1 operating system running at the same time."

    Nothing about "running operating systems" in the licence as far as I could see.

    ESET monitors number of downloads of signatures against users username and password. How that can be effectively checked is beyond me. If you have a 3 boot system and log in each system 3 times a day, you have the same downloads as 1 host plus 2 virtual machines! Yet one is Ok the other not?
     
  11. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Hello,

    If that information is directly from ESET Customer Support, then forget what I said. I guess I misunderstood or (more likely) got the information from someone who was only speculating. Sorry..

    Regards,

    Mark.
     
  12. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
  13. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    It is still one per computer, it isn't ambiguous, if you have a dual boot, you only need one license because you are only running one "computer" at a time, if you're running a virtual "PC" (Personal COMPUTER) you would need two because you're running two computers at a time, even if one is "virtual", it's still two computers.
     
  14. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
  15. elyoh

    elyoh Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    It's ambiguous because "computer" has no single widely accepted meaning.

    You define a computer as a running operating system. Others would say a computer meant the motherboard which everything runs off i.e. dual boot or virtual environment are classed as a single computer.
     
  16. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    okay.............
     
  17. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    All right, I'll give you that one, I retract my "it isn't ambiguous", it is. I see your point.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.