Question for Drive Snapshot Users

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Peter2150, Jul 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,058
    Have a question. Since I've been testing backup stuff on my new box, I decided to give Drive Snapshot another whirl. Downloaded the latest, and installed it. I took and image and then booted from Tom's CD. Decided to feel my way thru the DOS commands. First thing I did was the Show command just to see how it reported my drives. On my primary C: drive which is what I'd be restoring, it reported it was to big to evaluate, and called it 8Gb. In reality it is 2 250gb drives in raid 0. At that point I decided not to try a restore.

    Any thoughts, ideas's

    Pete
     
  2. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    why not build a bart pe disk - UBCD4win includes DS.

    You should be able to add drivers for your raid. I've never used the dos disk
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2006
  3. spm

    spm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    U.K.
    Yes, Pete, as I've encouraged you before - get yourself a UBCD4Win CD built and then use DS's Windows GUI for restore. It's a breeze.

    Now, I don't mean to excuse DS's poor DOS interface- it is poor - but irrespective of which imaging prog you use, a UBCD4Win CD is a must, in my view (and it makes any opinion of DS's DOS interface a moot point). Once you have one, and see what it can do for you, you'll never turn back.
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,058
    Okay. I'll have a look at the UBC4win stuff. Thanks guys.

    Pete

    PS I'm sure I'll have questions.
     
  5. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,058
    Hmm. That may be way the Acronis boot disk doesn't work. Only one that has worked is Image for DOS.
     
  7. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    I guess that might explain the wrong size - problem


    I have used th older version of ubcd before they fully integrated the bts drivers
    I managed to integrated a load of mass storage drivers the - SI 3112 adapter worked for me.

    The current version should be much easier to set up. Not got round to trying the new release myself.
     
  8. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    LOL
    There are threads in the terabyte news groups where individuals have used their apps to "de-bug" their hardware.

    Drive snapshot is good but even more gui-unfriendly than BING.
    The good is the boot disc, the bad is the interface and going through the PE Cd construction, but, I learn't a lot doing it.
    In the end I went for Terabyte.
    There is an IFW plugin for PE discs.

    Lbd.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2006
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,058
    I may be chasing my tail needlessly:D IFW/IFD has worked flawlessly on every image/restore test I've done.

    I looked at the site for UBC4win and I didn't see Drive Snapshot listed as a program on the disk. DO you have to make a plugin??

    Pete
     
  10. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
  11. spm

    spm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    U.K.
    If I were you,. I'd stick with what I'm happy with...#

    ... but if you PM me your e-mail address, I'd be happy to send you the DS plug-in.
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,058
    Thanks guys. Sounds complicated, which means it's easy after the first time you've done it.:D I will play and educate myself.

    Pete
     
  13. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041

    Sounds about right.
    http://www.ubcd4win.com/howto.htm

    Download here
    http://www.ubcd4win.com/downloads.htm
    You will need autostreamer, ubcd and QEMU for Windows to test the iso - could use vmplayer


    create slipstreamed disk for windows - install ubcd and bartpe - copy the extra plugin - follow the build process above.


    Disable process guard when running bart pe - causes errors on my system
     
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,058
    Thanks Starfish

    My new box came with SP2 on it. I assume the Windows CD that came with it has SP2 also. One less thing, to hassle with.

    PG no longer an issue here.

    Pete
     
  15. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    How did you get on? I like this prog more and more - simple and gdoes the job
     
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,058
    Hi Starfish

    To tell you the truth, I haven't done much. I did go back and try using just the regular restore disk. WHen I just tried a show disk, it reported my 2nd internal drive properly as 250GB, but it gave an error on my C: drive saying it was to large to handle and reported it as 8gb. Drive is 2 250gb drives in raid 0 configuration. Based on that I chose not to try a restore.

    Since IFD is just as easy to use, and I've been busy getting this new machine ready for business use before going on vacation, I basicallly I have dropped the project.

    WHen I get back I plan on contacting Tom and asking him about the raid drive.

    Pete
     
  17. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    sounds like a good plan
     
  18. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,058
    Well I heard back from Tom, and when I did what he asked I found that it was indeed reporting my c: drive properly. So I tried a restore and it worked fine.

    THen tried with my external USB drive, and although the recovery disk was able to find the drive, I couldn't tell how it was identified, and thus never found the image on it.


    Also any understand the significance of the MBR restore?
    one
    Pete
     
  19. spm

    spm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    U.K.
    It's not often needed, but it allows you to restore just the MBR from a (normal) snapshot - for instance, to repair a damaged one. Details of this and other DOS commands here: http://www.drivesnapshot.de/en/irestdos.htm
     
  20. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,058
    So am I correct, that it would restore the MBR and track 0 as it existed at the time the image was taken?
     
  21. spm

    spm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    U.K.
    Well, I haven't actually exercised this function, but my reading of it is that it would restore just the MBR.
     
  22. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,058
    Finally actually was able to access my external USB Drive. I now have comlete control over Drive Snapshot.

    Thanks guys.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.