Question for Drive Snapshot Users

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Peter2150, Jul 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,907
    Have a question. Since I've been testing backup stuff on my new box, I decided to give Drive Snapshot another whirl. Downloaded the latest, and installed it. I took and image and then booted from Tom's CD. Decided to feel my way thru the DOS commands. First thing I did was the Show command just to see how it reported my drives. On my primary C: drive which is what I'd be restoring, it reported it was to big to evaluate, and called it 8Gb. In reality it is 2 250gb drives in raid 0. At that point I decided not to try a restore.

    Any thoughts, ideas's

    Pete
     
  2. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,046
    why not build a bart pe disk - UBCD4win includes DS.

    You should be able to add drivers for your raid. I've never used the dos disk
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2006
  3. spm

    spm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    U.K.
    Yes, Pete, as I've encouraged you before - get yourself a UBCD4Win CD built and then use DS's Windows GUI for restore. It's a breeze.

    Now, I don't mean to excuse DS's poor DOS interface- it is poor - but irrespective of which imaging prog you use, a UBCD4Win CD is a must, in my view (and it makes any opinion of DS's DOS interface a moot point). Once you have one, and see what it can do for you, you'll never turn back.
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,907
    Okay. I'll have a look at the UBC4win stuff. Thanks guys.

    Pete

    PS I'm sure I'll have questions.
     
  5. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,046
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,907
    Hmm. That may be way the Acronis boot disk doesn't work. Only one that has worked is Image for DOS.
     
  7. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,046
    I guess that might explain the wrong size - problem


    I have used th older version of ubcd before they fully integrated the bts drivers
    I managed to integrated a load of mass storage drivers the - SI 3112 adapter worked for me.

    The current version should be much easier to set up. Not got round to trying the new release myself.
     
  8. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,204
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    LOL
    There are threads in the terabyte news groups where individuals have used their apps to "de-bug" their hardware.

    Drive snapshot is good but even more gui-unfriendly than BING.
    The good is the boot disc, the bad is the interface and going through the PE Cd construction, but, I learn't a lot doing it.
    In the end I went for Terabyte.
    There is an IFW plugin for PE discs.

    Lbd.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2006
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,907
    I may be chasing my tail needlessly:D IFW/IFD has worked flawlessly on every image/restore test I've done.

    I looked at the site for UBC4win and I didn't see Drive Snapshot listed as a program on the disk. DO you have to make a plugin??

    Pete
     
  10. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,046
  11. spm

    spm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    U.K.
    If I were you,. I'd stick with what I'm happy with...#

    ... but if you PM me your e-mail address, I'd be happy to send you the DS plug-in.
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,907
    Thanks guys. Sounds complicated, which means it's easy after the first time you've done it.:D I will play and educate myself.

    Pete
     
  13. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,046

    Sounds about right.
    http://www.ubcd4win.com/howto.htm

    Download here
    http://www.ubcd4win.com/downloads.htm
    You will need autostreamer, ubcd and QEMU for Windows to test the iso - could use vmplayer


    create slipstreamed disk for windows - install ubcd and bartpe - copy the extra plugin - follow the build process above.


    Disable process guard when running bart pe - causes errors on my system
     
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,907
    Thanks Starfish

    My new box came with SP2 on it. I assume the Windows CD that came with it has SP2 also. One less thing, to hassle with.

    PG no longer an issue here.

    Pete
     
  15. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,046
    How did you get on? I like this prog more and more - simple and gdoes the job
     
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,907
    Hi Starfish

    To tell you the truth, I haven't done much. I did go back and try using just the regular restore disk. WHen I just tried a show disk, it reported my 2nd internal drive properly as 250GB, but it gave an error on my C: drive saying it was to large to handle and reported it as 8gb. Drive is 2 250gb drives in raid 0 configuration. Based on that I chose not to try a restore.

    Since IFD is just as easy to use, and I've been busy getting this new machine ready for business use before going on vacation, I basicallly I have dropped the project.

    WHen I get back I plan on contacting Tom and asking him about the raid drive.

    Pete
     
  17. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,046
    sounds like a good plan
     
  18. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,907
    Well I heard back from Tom, and when I did what he asked I found that it was indeed reporting my c: drive properly. So I tried a restore and it worked fine.

    THen tried with my external USB drive, and although the recovery disk was able to find the drive, I couldn't tell how it was identified, and thus never found the image on it.


    Also any understand the significance of the MBR restore?
    one
    Pete
     
  19. spm

    spm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    U.K.
    It's not often needed, but it allows you to restore just the MBR from a (normal) snapshot - for instance, to repair a damaged one. Details of this and other DOS commands here: http://www.drivesnapshot.de/en/irestdos.htm
     
  20. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,907
    So am I correct, that it would restore the MBR and track 0 as it existed at the time the image was taken?
     
  21. spm

    spm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    U.K.
    Well, I haven't actually exercised this function, but my reading of it is that it would restore just the MBR.
     
  22. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,907
    Finally actually was able to access my external USB Drive. I now have comlete control over Drive Snapshot.

    Thanks guys.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.