Question about the new version of Shadow Defender

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Osaban, Jan 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,221
    When I exit SD "Exit All Shadow Modes" I get a window with a sentence that is incomplete in terms of printing. Probably nothing important but why?

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    "Do you want to reboot or shutdown now (After a reboot or shutdown, OS will exit Shadow Mode automatically)?"

    The res.ini file with all records is in the program directory (C:\Program Files\Shadow Defender\).

    Cheers
     
  3. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks, but I wasn't really interested in finding out what the missing text was all about, as much as why it is left in this uncompleted printed form.
     
  4. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Seems like my solution does not marry up with your problem. :cautious:

    Cheers
     
  5. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Are you using large (non-standard) DPI &/or fonts? To find out, do this...

    #1- Go to your Desktop >right click > properties > settings > advanced > QUESTION: Is the DPI setting other than "Normal"?

    #2- Go to your Desktop >right click > properties > settings > Appearance > QUESTION: Is the font size box showing anything other than "Normal"?

    If your answer to either of the above questions is Yes, then that may explain your problem. If so, it isn't truly YOUR problem. Instead, the problem lies with the designer of Shadow Defender's GUI. Report that fact at their forum.

    Tra-la-la -- let us know what you discover.;)
     
  6. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,221
    Nice try, but no, it's got nothing to do with settings or fonts, is it happening only to me, on 2 different machines and OSs?
     
  7. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    Nope. It's that way on my machine too.
     
  8. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Same way here also.
     
  9. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    721
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Same for me.
     
  10. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    Me too.
     
  11. kmr1685

    kmr1685 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Posts:
    62
    i hope this will answer your question people, mine win7 x32 with shadowdefender latest version running in my pc. :D

    ps:just my two cents :p ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,221
    So maybe this is the reason, It does it with XP and Vista, but it's OK with Windows 7.
     
  13. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Not ok on win 7 here
     
  14. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,221
    I don't want to sound finicky with this problem, but apart from being an eye sore whenever I reboot, the program so far is working flawlessly, which is of course what matters most.
     
  15. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Not ok here on win 7 64 either.The annoying thing is i never even noticed until you mentioned it ,and now its bugging me knowing its there :rolleyes:
    ellison
     
  16. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    You can edit the res.ini file yourself to amend the text and fix the problem. Here's what I did: -

    140000=Shadow Defender
    140001=Some volumes you selected cannot exit Shadow Mode (maybe some files are used by other applications); a reboot or shutdown is needed for the change to take effect.\nAfter a reboot or shutdown, the OS will exit Shadow Mode automatically. Do you want to reboot or shutdown now?
    140002=
    140003=Exit Shadow Mode and &reboot now
    140004=Exit Shadow Mode and &shutdown now
    140005=Reboot or shutdown &later
    140006=(OS will exit Shadow Mode automatically when shutdown)
    140007=OK
    140008=Cancel

    Edit: Just to clarify the above, 140001 is where you need to put the text (only 5 lines can be displayed). 140002 doesn't work and is what causes the problem, so merge 140002 into 140001 and blank out 140002. I suggest making a copy of the res.ini file first before editing it though.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2010
  17. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Thanks....That works ! :)
    ellison
     
  18. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    You're welcome. :)
     
  19. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    The author probably amended the text but forgot to change the dialog resource so it would fit. You can use a resource editor to change the window size or text field.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.