Question about rescue media creation

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Mike Kyriazakos, Jun 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mike Kyriazakos

    Mike Kyriazakos Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Can someone please clarify this for me? After I update to the latest build 3633, and I create an image/backup of my hard drive, I can no longer use the original TI program CD to boot from in order to restore? It seems that if you use the original program CD, it will not recognize the .tib file as a TI backup file? I need to create a rescue CD from the 3633 build, is this correct?

    Thanks
     
  2. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Depends. What version was the older "original TI program CD"? Version 8 or older cannot read a version 9 image.

    "I need to create a rescue CD from the 3633 build, is this correct?"
    Yes.
     
  3. Mike Kyriazakos

    Mike Kyriazakos Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    The CD is Version 9 but Im not sure what build as I don't have it with me.
     
  4. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    AFAIK any Version 9 recovery CD should be able to handle any .tib, including older versions.
     
  5. APBIDDLE

    APBIDDLE Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    I have updated through several version 9 builds. I have tried to restore from the current build TIB with the restore CD from the previous one, and both times I was unable to do so. In the most recent case, it did not recognize the TIB file, and the previous time it kept coming up with a corrupted archive message. Using the matching recovery CD in both cases got me my restore. So when I update, I keep the old recovery CD until I no longer have any archives made with that build. Always a chance it is something particular to my equipment, of course.
     
  6. Mike Kyriazakos

    Mike Kyriazakos Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    OK I just tested this out again and it definately is a problem at least for me. The backup I created under 3363 has been validated and it seems OK unless I use the TI 9 original disk to boot from. When I boot from the original it tells me either the file is corrupt or it's not a valid TI backup. It seems to alternate between the two error messages on the same file previously validated under Windows XP.
     
  7. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    TI9 Build 3567 and later use a different engine than the older builds including TI8. The older programs including the rescue CD cannot understand the file structure used by the new engine. The new version can understand the old format OK.

    You must therefore make a new rescue CD to validate images made with B3567 and later. You should always make a new rescue CD with each new build.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Mike Kyriazakos,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please note that as seekforever said, builds 3567 and higher use new "engine" which is differs from the previous builds. Acronis True Image Bootable Rescue CD has the same "engine" as the version you use under Windows. So if update your current version and wish to have the latest update on your Acronis Bootable Rescue CD then you should create a new CD with the latest build. You can find the inforamation about build number in the Help -> About dialog (it should be a 4 digit number).

    Additional information about how to create Acronis True Image Bootable CD can be found in Chapter 9. "Creating bootable media" in the Acronis True Image 9.0 Home User Guide.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.