Question about Power Supply Unit

Discussion in 'hardware' started by Rasheed187, Mar 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,055
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi,

    I was wondering, is it possible to put a PSU from another brand inside a PC? :)

    And if so, what things are important to think about when buying a PSU?
     
  2. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,128
    Are we talking about desktops?
     
  3. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,055
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes we´re talking about desktops. :)

    So basically my question is, if you must use the same type of PSU that came installed with the PC.
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    The PSU should be the same form factor (ATX, SFX, TFX, etc) and check the length of it. Also if you are upgrading the PSU on an OEM (Dell, HP, etc) machine, you should check if the original PSU or its cables are proprietary. If they are, you may not be able to replace it with an ordinary PSU you bought retail.
     
  5. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,128
    here's a good place to start
     
  6. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,013
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    yup as long as the form factor matches up you can use any brand. you also have to check the actual wattage. just dont skimp on power supplies imo its almost the most important part
     
  7. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,055
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    How can you tell this? I´m sorry, but I´m a bit of a noob when it comes to hardware. :)
    Yes, I´ve read that it´s very important. A bad PSU can take down the whole PC.

    Wow, that´s a bit too much info. ;)
     
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    I hope this is not too much info, but this article on Tom's Hardware goes over the form factors, connectors and more info on PSUs:

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/power-supply-specifications-atx-reference,3061.html

    If you search for "replacing power supply for [insert computer model here]", you may find whether its proprietary or not. Alternatively you can also tell us the model for the computer whose PSU you want to replace.
     
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,055
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  10. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Any of the Corsair PSUs should be fine however that website has a very paltry selection of PSUs. Half of the them are from Corsair alone (not that they're bad or anything).
     
  11. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,055
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Just for the clarity, so it is indeed possible to replace the one from Delta Electronics?

    These things above are of no concern?

    Also, can I buy a modular PSU? And what about the amount of wattage, does it make sense to go for more watt? :)
     
  12. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    First sorry for the late response. I think I missed the email notification or something.
    Just as a comparison, the Corsair CX500 has:

    1 x Main connector (20+4Pin)
    1 x 4+4 Pin EPS 12V
    2 x PCI-E
    5 x SATA
    4 x Peripheral
    1 x Floppy
    Of course.
    Not really. You would be surprised how much hardware a high quality 450W PSU can handle:

    http://www.overclock3d.net/articles/power_supply/how_many_watts_do_you_actually_need/1
     
  13. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,055
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    @ WSFuser

    No problem, thanks for the feedback. :thumb:

    I will probably buy the Corsair CX500, it´s for a friend actually. ;)
     
  14. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,703
    When I bought my monster desktop with its gtx 570 gpu, the card was rated 150w at idle and 300w at max, plus 5 hard disks, 2 dvd trays, an extra wireless network card, and a bit more, I went for a 775w psu to be on the safe side.

    The overall consumption when gaming is about 370-400w max.
    So I could go for less, but I like a bit of margin and fan silence.
    But I might have gotten away with 600w, but I like the 7 year warranty.

    Mrk
     
  15. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,055
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes, I´ve read it´s handy when you´re buying for example a more powerful GPU, that´s more power hungry.

    So a 'heavier' PSU means more upgrade options. :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.