Question about PG

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by Acadia, Nov 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Ok, this is probably a dumb question, knowing nothing about ProcessGuard. Does PG do anything, or change in any way, the Master Boot Record. Does it demand any priority or control over the MBR? Thank you.

    Acadia
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Arcadia, It does not, it is basically a kernel level driver with a GUI on top.

    HTH Pilli
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    Hi Acadia

    I have been running PG(latest versions) with Raxco's First Defense, which does modify the MBR. No problems whatsoever.

    Pete
     
  4. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Thanks Peter, you guessed it, THAT'S what I was wondering about.

    Acadia
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    BTW, whenever I do a copy with FDISR, I always disable PG, along with other stuff like AV, etc. Just seems to keep all the bits and bytes happy.
     
  6. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Yeah, I too always disable my anti-virus but that's it, I don't have PG, at least not yet.

    Acadia
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    Hi Acadis

    My advice on the score is simple: GET IT :D

    Makes you feel like your computer is all wrapped in a nice warm blanket, snug and secure.

    Pete
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.