Question about NIS 2009 HIPS

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by mvdu, Oct 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    I noticed that when I had it installed, it wouldn't let me use both Automatic Program Control AND the activity analyzer (HIPS.) Why can't I have both on? Wouldn't I have to use a separate HIPS?
     
  2. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    no, you actually dont need a separate HIPS.
     
  3. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    As far as I know,
    Automatic Program Control - Whitelist/Blacklist based protection
    Activity Analyzer - HIPS

    Now if you have already some other HIPS product you can choose the former. The latter (Activity Analyzer) includes whitelist and monitors any other app (no blacklist).

    Hence the choice of any 1 methodology.
     
  4. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    But if you choose Automatic Program Control, wouldn't a separate HIPS be recommended if you want an HIPS?
     
  5. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    If you choose APC, you can use any alternative HIPS like DefenseWall without fear of conflict.
    Else there could be some overlap, which could result in system instability.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.