Question about new version of Flash

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by bloomcounty, Jul 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bloomcounty

    bloomcounty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    64
    Sorry if this isn't the correct spot to post this... :oops:

    I currently have Flash version 10,0,32,18, but when I updated to Firefox 3.6.6, a page from Mozilla came up saying I should update to the new version of Flash, with a link to this page: http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

    Are there any problems with this new version?

    I ask this because of what seems to be something I've never seen before when installing/updating Flash:

    Also install: Free McAfee® Security Scan Plus (optional) 1 MB

    Ugh, what's that about? Definitely don't want this! If you uncheck this option, and then install, are you truly just getting the Flash player like before and no added ~Possibly offensive phrase removed.~?

    Also, do I need to uninstall the old version of Flash first with the uninstaller? Or just install the new version?

    Thanks for the help and Happy 4th! :thumb:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 3, 2010
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    No problems with new version which fixes security vulnerabilities. When you untick that offer you get Flash and only Flash. I have never, that I can remember, un-installed the previous version when updating
     
  3. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
  4. bloomcounty

    bloomcounty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    64
    Well, I tried installing from http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/ and was prompted to allow something that I thought was the Flash plugin to install, but was actually something called getPlusPlus for Adobe 16263. It installed, then it wanted to run to, I guess, install Flash. But I didn't allow it and canceled out. Never had to do any of that before.

    And now this plugin is listed in my Plugins in Firefox and I can't remove it (only disable it). I think it was also listed in "Add-ons" and I removed it from there.

    How do I get rid of it from being listed in Plugins so it's completely off my system?

    (I guess I'll download and install the new Flash manually from the link J_L provided.)
     
  5. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
  6. bloomcounty

    bloomcounty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    64
    Thanks! I actually figured out the add/remove programs thing to get rid of the Adobe Installation Assistant crap thing before I checked back here, but that post is good reference! I do have a further concern... see below...

    This isn't true. I also got that getPlusPlus Adobe Download Assistant. (Granted, I allowed Firefox to install it when it blocked it by clicking "allow" in the upper-right hand corner of Firefox, but I thought that was what I was supposed to do based on your post. But only because you didn't mention that part of it.) According to the link J_L provided here, you shouldn't allow that -- but let it block it, then click the "click here to download if it didn't start automatically" link.

    I ended up removing the Adobe Download Assistant from Add/Remove programs, which got rid of the getPlusPlus plugin in Firefox. Then I downloaded Flash from the link J_L proved here, and also downloaded the uninstaller (which I don't think you technically have to do, because the install file appears to have the uninstaller in it as well), uninstalled, rebooted, and installed the new flash by running the install .exe I downloaded. Seems to work fine now.

    The one thing I'm still concerned about is that I somehow got some other crap by allowing that Adobe Download Assistant / getPlusPlus plugin to originally install. That blog post J_L linked to talks about how impossible it is to get that stuff of your computer once it's on there. But I'm confident I unchecked that McAfee box when originally attempting to install Flash.

    Any way I can verify I don't have any of that McAfee crap on my system now? I looked in add/remove programs, and didn't see anything there...
     
  7. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    You can try searching for Mcafee on your hard drive, if you're not using one of their product.
    Fastest way to do this is by using Everything. It's a very fast freeware that works best under 32-bit. Only detects NTFS drives though.
     
  8. bloomcounty

    bloomcounty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    64
    I did a regular Windows search and nothing came up, so I'm *guessing* I'm okay. I'm confident I unchecked that McAfee option when I tried installing Flash the first time. I guess I could look in the registry to be sure (just don't want to install another program), but it's been while since I've done that and don't recall how or where to look. Do you happen to know?

    Thanks again!
     
  9. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    It is. Whatever offer does not get installed if deselected. The download assistant might be something you don't desire and indeed can do without but it is meant to improve the download of flash install and nothing else
     
  10. bloomcounty

    bloomcounty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    64
    Sure, that makes sense. I just didn't want the download assistant (and it was evidently not needed), so I was counting that as something getting installed that I didn't want.

    Thanks!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.