Question about Microsoft Critical Updates

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Mystique, Jul 31, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mystique

Mystique Registered Member

Hi everyone. :)

This is my first post here. I am only a newbie and still getting to grips with everything to do with computers so bear with me and my questions. :oops:

I went to Microsoft's Update page to see what updates there are for my system. As I was reading through the description of each update to see what they are for, I notice that on some of the updates, there is a clause there that says once I install a particular update, it cannot be removed.

I was wondering what it means by that and why it cannot be removed. Isn't that a security breach in itself?

Many many thanks in advance. :)

2. rbw91

rbw91 Registered Member

I am no expert so this is just my opinion.

Critical Updates are the things that stop MSBlaster and Sasser from infecting your system -- They are CRITICAL. On that basis I just install them when they are available, check often, set your computer to detect them automatically and worry about the consequences later.

I would rather do that than get a particularly nasty virus.

So what if the update goes wrong?

My own personal opinion on this is that if Microsoft released something which did not work properly or caused glitches then they would be inundated with complaints and calls from consumers - they would soon fix it and release a further update.

For me it is Sasser versus trust in the organisation. On that basis I will trust the organisation, because even if they got it wrong they would soon put it right.

3. snowbound

snowbound Retired Moderator

Hi Mystique.:)

Welcome to Wilders.

I always create a new restore point before i download Windows Updates. That way if they cause any problems, i can restore my computer to just before they were installed.

IMHO, good practice before installing anything...

snowbound

4. Robyn