Question about excluding files

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by jayt, May 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    I have just downloaded an installed v. 2.5. When I scan I get about twelve files that are locked in C/Documents and Settings. I also get all of the skins files in Adaware that are zipped that are locked. I have tried to exclude the Adaware Skin file in Amon, but it does not work. It still scans it and shows in blue. I also wonder about trying to exclude C/Documents and Settings. Would this be dangerous? Most of the files there that are locked are ntuser.dat and ntuser.logs, but also local services and network services.
    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    I wouldn't exclude Documents and Settings. A lot of malware ends up in that folder. It is an important system folder in XP and used extensively by the operating system.
    As far as the info in blue, is that really a problem? :)
     
  3. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    Not really, but why can't I exclude the skins file from Adaware? I clicked on Exclusions in Amon-clicked on File -navigated to the Lavasoft folder and drilled down to the skins file and checked it to be excluded from scan. However, it is still scanned in Scan and Clean mode and also in context mode (if I only scan the Lavasoft folder).
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    You are confusing AMON, the file system monitor, and the NOD32 on-demand scanner...
     
  5. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    Then how do I exclude a file (such as Adaware skin file) from scanning?
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    Did you try excluding archives in the on demand module desktop icon.
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Maybe you could try running nod32.exe with the /exclude= parameter...
     
  8. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    No- but I will. :) Thanks guys. I have temporarily solved the problem by deleting the "skins" file from Adaware. I don't use them anyway.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.