Question about clone

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by wilgin, Sep 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wilgin

    wilgin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Hi!
    I´m download the 15 day Test Version (11.0 B 8.027).
    In my winXP SP2 System ther are two 250GB SATA Disks installed. First with system and data and the second is free. I want to clone the 1st to the 2nd disk. I click the "Harddisk-Tools" and "Clone Disk". But the Assistent doen´s show me the disks. I can only add the disk, but the program will delete the content.
    Is such task not possible with the test-version?

    Thanks for all answers!
    best regards
    wilfried
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Are you using TI in Windows or booting to the TI CD?

    I don't think the trial version on the CD will clone a drive.
     
  3. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    The trial version CD will only allow you to restore an image not clone.
     
  4. wilgin

    wilgin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Hi!

    I download the 15 day test version from the website:
    http://www.acronis.de/homecomputing/download/trueimage/ (german version)
    I want to see how it works before buy the software. Does anybody know what other functions are not available in the 15 day test version?

    thanks a lot
    wilfried

     
  5. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Have you already got a system backup strategy in place and is it capable of restoring your hard drive to its current working state?
    If not I would tread very warily indeed. Version 11 has only been out a few days. It has quite a few user identified bugs, not yet confirmed by Acronis. I have not yet seen any reports from someone who has done what you propose. The choice is yours.

    Xpilot
     
  6. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Scheduled backups will not work from the CD also but this is true for the purchased version as well. See this post for the trial version limitations https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=700804&postcount=2
     
  7. CorkyG

    CorkyG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    126
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    The trial version cannot create a Rescue Disk. Cloning is way better done via Rescue Disk than from within Windows. It is faster, . . . has a much better GUI, and is less prone to crash, freeze or fail. Just remember - when cloning from the Windows OS, the system must reboot and go into a sleazy looking command prompt mode that does not give you complete and accurate in progress info. So, why not just use the boot media and bypass the OS and its concomitant problems completely?
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2007
  8. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Wrong! The trial version can create a Rescue Disk. It is only capable of a restore.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello wilgin,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please download the latest version of Acronis drivers and install it with disabled logging.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please make a screen shot of the Device Tree application the way described in this previous post.

    Please also create a screenshot of the problem screen of Disk Clone Wizard.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.