Question about changing my DNS

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by Melita, Dec 15, 2020.

  1. Melita

    Melita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Spain
    I want to change the DNS of my ISP. Is it necessary to change this in my wireless router and the computer both, or is it enough if I change it only in the computer.

    Thank you
     
  2. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,288
    if you do it on your router, then every device on your network will use the custom dns servers. and you won't need to set it up on your pc separately. if you do it on your pc, only that pc will use the custom dns servers.
     
  3. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    957
    Location:
    usa
    Not that easy and simple.
    I've set up on my browsers to use the Cloudfare "Https-over-Dns" (secure) DNS servers. Guess what?
    Any Dns test shows my primary ISP's DNS servers, plus, the Cloudfare servers.
    What's more.
    Even with the "double VPN", I have a LEAK through those "secure" Cloudfare servers.
     
  4. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,288
    who said anything about doh/dot? op's post is about dns server setup at os/modem/router level.
    besides, you shouldn't use doh with vpn, if you do that, it will bypass vpn service provider's custom dns servers.
     
  5. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    651
    Location:
    Far East
    How's the DNS priority sequence assuming all the DNS below are set

    1) VPN's DNS server
    2) Windows DNS server settings
    3) Browser's DNS server settings
    4) DNS server settings in 3rd-party software like in Adguard
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2020
  6. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,754
    Location:
    USA
    DoH in the browser doesn't stop the rest of Windows from not using your ISP servers (or the server you set up manually in Windows). Windows won't support it until next year. I would set up the router and call it as done as it can be. Also agree with the comment about not using DoH with a VPN. No benefit to that.
     
  7. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,288
    3-1-4-2.
     
  8. Melita

    Melita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Spain
    Where or what is 'Browser's DNS server settings. If I change the settings both at the computer and at the wireless router to the DNS server I want, how does the Browser's settings effect my choice of the DNS server?
     
  9. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,399
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Latest version of Firefox for example now defaults to use of DNS over HTTPS (DoH) using Cloudflare DNS servers. DoH use can be manually disabled, or Clouldflare DNS use can be changed to another DNS provider that supports DoH.
     
  10. Melita

    Melita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Spain
    Does this mean that the browser will override both the DNS settings in the computer and the router, unless I manually disable the DoH use?
     
  11. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,228
    Location:
    US
    The last couple versions of Firefox actually give you the choice of Cloudflare or NextDNS.
    Acadia
     
  12. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    957
    Location:
    usa
    It's an interesting thing.
    When I assign the DoH Cloudfare servers for my computer in the Network Settings and, in addition, use DoH with my (any) browser, then,
    Cloudfare ESNI checker is complaining about "SECURE DNS", so,
    only when I use ONE (1) option of DoH - either in the Network Settings or in the browser settings - Cloudfare is happy.

    Just a question.

    Is is a good idea to install Cloudfare WARP?
    I could not find any info about WARP at this forum.
     
  13. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    957
    Location:
    usa
    Cloudflare or NextDNS?
    Which one is better?
     
  14. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,754
    Location:
    USA
    Of those 2 I would go Cloudflare. I prefer Quad9 to either.
     
  15. SouthPark

    SouthPark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    559
    Location:
    South Park, CO
  16. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    957
    Location:
    usa
    I've downloaded a new Cloudfare WARP app, installed it.
    It's a small app but it gives you a private ID and is using the Cloudfare DNS.
    I did not notice any leaks. It gives you some security, privacy, protects against some rogue domains, but I don't trust Cloudfare privacy settings.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.