Quake Wars : Enemy Territory

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by bombing, Sep 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bombing

    bombing Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Now on it's proper place ;)

    Hi Climenole, about the log, is there a specific folder where I can copy and upload here the .txt file generated or whatever?

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    • rule.png
      rule.png
      File size:
      249.8 KB
      Views:
      236
  2. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi bombing :)

    According to some information I found with GOOGLE this game used these ports:

    UDP: 27733
    UDP: 3074
    UDP: 33060-33070

    TCP: 3074

    So you have to create a TEST rule like this:

    Ethernet : IP
    Protocol: UDP
    Packets : in and out

    Local ports: all (no entry)
    Locals IP : all (no entry)

    remote ports: all: (no entry)
    remote IPs: all (no entry)

    Add the executables of this game in that specific rule
    with the button "applications...) and save it.

    Put that rule just after the general rule TCP:allow commeon Internet services...

    Save, apply and reboot.

    Try the game.

    You'll see in the log the port realy used by this games and fron this you can modify the rule accordingly.

    To find the LOG check the OPTION TAB and click on the button "log" !

    :)
     
  3. bombing

    bombing Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Hi Climenole!

    Weird things happen... I changed the rule as per your suggestion and I stopped having access to Internet. I delete rule, make another and again it works... same settings apparently.

    Now, the generic rule works and here's the log... how can I make the QW rule stricter?
     

    Attached Files:

    • log.png
      log.png
      File size:
      80.9 KB
      Views:
      3
  4. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi Bombing :)

    Put an exclamation mark in the third column of this generic rules for the game to have an entry in the log each time the program access Internet. Play the game for a certain amount of time to have enough traces in the log.

    Upload a copy of this log here in text format (not a screen capture).
    With the button "manage attachment" under the editing windows of the forum.

    I'll check this and give you a better rule(s) for the games.

    :)
     
  5. bombing

    bombing Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Arg! When I had to delete and make the new rule, I forgot to set the log for it... will post later on.

    Thanks for your time m8! :p
     
  6. bombing

    bombing Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Hi Climenole ;)

    Here's the log attached.

    QW and BF2 are both punkbuster games and everytime I change games there's always the annoying popup asking to authorize PnkBstrB.exe, sending me to desktop. Is there a way to make it not popup everytime?

    Thank you!
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi Bombing :)

    Thank you for the log.

    Check in the application filter to see if there is a blocking for PnkBstrB.exe...

    The beginning of the like must be like this :
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi Bombing :)

    - Download the rules file
    - Rename it by removing the .TXT
    - Import in LnS
    - Add the executable(s) of the game Quake Wars in each three rules and save
    - Put the three rules just after the rule "TCP:autorised most common Internet services"
    - Save and apply
    - Reboot

    Try the game. Hope this help.

    :)
     

    Attached Files:

  9. bombing

    bombing Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Climenole... you are a Prince!
    Working perfectly. I think I got the idea... TCP usually is already covered by the enhanced rules and I should add as many UDP rules as there are "identifiable" ranges, right?

    Next time I install a multiplayer game I'll give it a go and post here proudly... I hope :D

    Have a great weekend and merci beaucoup :D
     
  10. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi Bombing :)

    You're absolutly right : specific rules are (most of the time) only for UDP.
    The trick is to watch blocked outgoing UDP packets.
    When you have enough samples in the log, it's easier to create rules.

    I'm very happy to know that your game is now running. Very Good ! :thumb:

    Sure ! Do not hesitate to ask question here.

    Have a great GAMES week end Bombing :D

    :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.