Qihoo 360

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by EternalFunction, Jun 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EternalFunction

    EternalFunction Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Posts:
    40
    I used the search function, but the date backs to last years and I don't want to 'resurrect' dead threads.
    From what I've read, qihoo uses bitdefender engine? Or they do have in-home engine?

    My gf's laptop is using qihoo 360, with qihoo 360 web browser, and the detection rate are quite decent, but sadly so far I've seen it only comes with chinese version and my chinese are so damn poor so I'm not sure how to navigate it much.

    Any comments on it? Or is there any english version coming up soon?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Paris
    They do use the BD engine, which comes as no surprise as the company is primary an Internet portal (number 3 in China) and not a Security company.

    Their browser is number 2 (after IE). 360 Mobile Safe, a mobile security app has ~60% penetration. But as the company generates revenue (overwhelmingly so) through advertising on their Portal I really wouldn't look for much innovation in the AV. If you like Q360, download and use BD.
     
  3. johnyjohn

    johnyjohn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Posts:
    126
    Hi,

    FYI, Avira newly signed a deal with Chinese security specialist Qihoo 360:

     
  4. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Qihoo 360 is the ones that bought out MD right?
     
  5. qakbot

    qakbot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Posts:
    380
    I wasn't aware that Norton started outsourcing N360 to China ?
     
  6. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    They are not related in any way as far as I am aware. They just both have 360 in the name.
     
  7. Extraterrestrial

    Extraterrestrial Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    So far I haven't heard any e. version of qihoo coming up soon
     
  8. wenjuner

    wenjuner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Posts:
    8

    Yes ,you told the truth~~Qihoo 360 bought out Malware Defender last year~
     
  9. Less

    Less Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    248
    Just installed 360.
    There are few applications connecting to the net

    what are these? are they necessary for connection?

    1. WDSafedown.exe
    2. 360rps.exe
    3. dep360.exe
    4. 360sdupd.exe
    5. 360rp.exe
    6. 360sd.exe
    7. 360tray.exe
    8. Lifeupdate360.exe
     
  10. chenrui

    chenrui Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    I am using it now ,all of these connections are necessary ,just allow them ,that is ok :rolleyes:
     
  11. chenrui

    chenrui Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    I am a Chinese and I am willing to help ,bellow are some photos ,I have translated them into english ,since I don't know the version of your 360 products (AV or security assistant or browser ),I have translated each of their main page (please tell me the exact product and version you use ,I am willing to help ),you know ,my english is not good ,so there may be some mistakes ,sorry ps:qihoo use BD engine and avira engine and three engines developed by itself ,this can be seen clearly in the picture .
    2011_chris_pre.jpg
    sdskin-3123-pre.jpg
    无标1题.png
    无3标题.png
     
  12. chenrui

    chenrui Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    I think I should have a statement here ,I don't want to post advertisements here ,all what I did is to help others ,not only qihoo ,but also if you need any help when using Chinese software ,I would like to help
     
  13. Atul88

    Atul88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Posts:
    259
    Location:
    India
    U'll have to learn Chinese to use the software, better stick with what u have;)
    And using BD Antivirus on ur PC?? Better be ready to lose the internet speed
    it will make your 1MBPS line working like 256KBPS!!!!
    Just a Personal Experience u know!!!;)
     
  14. chenrui

    chenrui Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    BD ?personally ,I think it is not so bad ,I once used it and I think it's pretty good .
     
  15. Amin

    Amin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    UK
    hi,

    what engines does QIHOO use ?

    i heard they have a deal with avira and bitdefender, but that means qihoo is using their engine ?

    plz clarify this fo me..

    best regards..
     
  16. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    Qihoo uses Avira + BD + in-house engines
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.