Puzzling Stop Message Windows Xp Help Please!

Discussion in 'hardware' started by markedmanner, Oct 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. markedmanner

    markedmanner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    134
    I have a computer that I am working on and I can not figure out what is going on any suggestions would be appreciated. Here is the situation
    It is a desktop running Windows XP. When I turn it on I get this BSOD message at the XP loading screen.

    IRQ_NOT_EQUAL_OR_LESS

    STOP: 0x0000007A

    ATAPI.SYS (Base at ......)


    I can get the computer the boot into safe mode. I run msconfig and set it to diagnostic startup and restart. I get the same error message when I try to boot normally.

    I ran the memtest86+ boot disc to check the memory and it passed all test. I even went a step further and removed each stick of RAM and tried starting the computer. Still get the same bsod.

    I also ran Active Disk boot disc (http://www.livecd.com/) and scanned the hard drive for bad sectors and it passed the test. Also interesting was that the Active boot disc was the only one I could get to start. Hirens boot disc would throw a bsod quickly and restart. Kaspersky Rescue CD would shut down the computer when I tried to start it. Avira Rescue Cd would freeze at "Loading Linux Kernel". I even tried unplugging the Hard drive from the mother board and get the same results. Im not sure what this means. The Windows XP recovery disc will boot as well but that is it.

    I have tried unplugging all the cdrom drives from the motherboard and even unplugged the tv card that is installed and I still get the same BSOD on startup. The Tv Card is the only card to unplug as the video,audio and network are all onboard.

    I have tried booting into safe mood and running sfc \scannow. But it will not run. It gives me an error that the RPC service is not running. When I check it is running though.

    As far as virus scans while booted into safe mode I scanned with Emisofts Anti-Malware. It came up with 1 and it was a toolbar of some kind and that's it.

    Im not sure what to think of this. I am beginning to think it is the motherboard but I am not certain. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I misread the original post.
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2011
  3. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
  4. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    343

    Sorry if Lame but reset CMOS has helped sometimes...
    Shut off comp, unplug, remove battery 4 1 minute replace reboot.
    Also i was advised to reseat memory after failed boot...and it worked...but i did them all at once.
    Hmmm...
    IRQ has to do with HDware allocation...somewhere...
    good luck
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2011
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    markedmanner,

    Great troubleshooting. As you can only boot from one CD when the HD is disconnected it suggests a hardware issue. Can you get the data off the HD when booted to the Active@ Boot Disk? (or Safe Mode)
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2011
  6. markedmanner

    markedmanner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    134
    Thanks for the suggestions. I will try all of these later and report back my results. If anyone has any other suggestions let me know.
     
  7. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    Did you to restore the last known good config (F8 at boot time, then chose the selected option) ?
     
  8. OldMX

    OldMX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    170
    You have a bad ide or sata controller on the motherboard or the hard disk is damaged, try running the manufacturer diagnostics tool for the brand of the hd.
     
  9. cozumel

    cozumel Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Posts:
    260
    Location:
    London, UK
    What is the exact location of atapi.sys and is it in more than one location (just in case malware hiding as MS file locking out your AV rescue disks)

    Have you tried a different hdd in the system (with old one disconnected and all other hardware disconnected)?

    Will she boot into a LiveCD OS and allow internet access, sound etc when your hdd and everything else is disconnected? Could try using a different CD Drive when trying this too.
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Good point. Remove your current CD drive.
     
  11. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I was getting the same blue screen error message. I ran Nir Sofer's program and it indicated a problem I never would have guessed...

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=309315

    To make a long story short - no more blue screens after I updated drivers for my wireless card.

    I'm not saying you have the same problem, but maybe the program also helps you diagnose your issue.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.