Push installation difficulities from W2K3

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products' started by Manz, May 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Manz

    Manz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Dear all,

    We had a problem when use the push installation from Windows 2003 server.
    But this is not happen when push installation from Windows 2000 server.

    We already follow the instructions for installation, but still no lucky.
    Domain Controller is Windows 2003.

    The error message when do the diagnostics is :
    -------------
    Computer: PC1
    Domain: MYDOM
    Get Info Diagnostics, server: MYSERVER, user: administrator
    Setting IPC$ Connection Result Code: 1240 (The account is not authorized to log in from this station.)
    Remote Registry Connecting (OS Info) Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Remote Registry Opening (OS Info) Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Remote Registry Reading (OS Info) Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Remote Registry Connecting (ESET Security Product Info) Result Code: 0 (The operation completed successfully.)
    Remote Registry Opening (ESET Security Product Info) Result Code: 5 (Access is denied.)
    Remote Install Diagnostics, server: MYSERVER, user: administrator
    Setting ADMIN$ Connection Result Code: 1240 (The account is not authorized to log in from this station.)
    Setting IPC$ Connection Result Code: 1240 (The account is not authorized to log in from this station.)
    Registering ESET Installer as a Service Result Code: 5 (Access is denied.)

    --------------
    We already use the administrator user and password account.
    when we use the :
    net use \\PC1\ipc$ -> result is ok can establish

    in windows explorer : type in address \\pc1\admin$ -> can show all file.

    we already turned off the simple file sharing feature, but still no luck.
    In windows 2000 we didn't found any problem ...

    ESET : 3.0.642 Business edition.

    Anyone can help to resolve this promblem.

    Thankz
    Manz
     
  2. Manz

    Manz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    I'm hit the problem again :... hiks

    Computer: PC2
    Domain: MYDOM
    Get Info Diagnostics, server: NMYSERVER, user: administrator
    Setting IPC$ Connection Result Code: 1203 (No network provider accepted the given network path.)
    Remote Registry Connecting (OS Info) Result Code: 53 (The network path was not found.)
    Remote Registry Connecting (ESET Security Product Info) Result Code: 53 (The network path was not found.)

    Remote Install Diagnostics, server: MYSERVER, user: administrator
    Setting ADMIN$ Connection Result Code: 1203 (No network provider accepted the given network path.)
    Setting IPC$ Connection Result Code: 1203 (No network provider accepted the given network path.)
    Registering ESET Installer as a Service Result Code: 1722 (The RPC server is unavailable.)


    Anyone can help me please....
     
  3. mkuntic

    mkuntic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Posts:
    54
    Just deploy it via Group Policy.
     
  4. Manz

    Manz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    What do you mean ? just deploy it via group policy ?

    Can you show us step by step procedures o_O

    Thanks
     
  5. mkuntic

    mkuntic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Posts:
    54
  6. Manz

    Manz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Wow ... thanks ... but, configuring one by one of computer to joining to the server ... it time consumable ...
     
  7. Manz

    Manz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Why this case only some computer ?
    does have a simple configuration set and security policy ?
     
  8. hillrb

    hillrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    44
    Simple enough, but how do you push a config with that?
     
  9. mkuntic

    mkuntic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Posts:
    54
    Put the cfg.xml into the same folder where the MSI resides.
     
  10. hillrb

    hillrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    44
    Really? That works? That's how I'd love it work. I previously had asked my sales engineer about deploying through AD and he didn't think it could be done unless it was something I had configured in the Logon scripts area with the "einstaller.exe" file they create.

    I'll certainly give it a try. That's how Symantec did it. I was so used to it.

    *edit*
    Does it matter what the name of the xml file is?
     
  11. mkuntic

    mkuntic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Posts:
    54
    Yes. It must be named "cfg.xml".
    All the details are available in the official NOD RA documentation.
     
  12. hillrb

    hillrb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    44
    Thanks!
     
  13. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Are you saying you're running active directory..but many servers and workstations are not members of it? If so...err...why aren't them joined to the domain? Because you're beginning to see ..through having things not work properly as they would with a good AD setup, the fallback of having just a peer to peer setup.
     
  14. Manz

    Manz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Posts:
    10

    Nope, i mean, we have to configure the antivirus one by one, but in previous thread already describe it ... we'll to trying ...

    Thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.