protection will not enable

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by tetonbob, Dec 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tetonbob

    tetonbob Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    94
    I'm using v3.2. I just updated to the 11/23 definitions, and when I went to enable all protection as usual, eight items in IE refuse to have their protection enabled. I've tried enabling all protection from the main Protection page, also went to the IE tab on the same page and tried checking the items in question, which are listed in RED, and then clicking on Protect Against Checked Items. The process seems to complete, but I remain unprotected against these same eight items:

    Search-system.com Hijacker
    Virtumonde Adware
    TX4 Adware
    KeenValue PowerSearch Variant
    Topconverting Adware
    EliteBar / Search Miracle
    Hellas Minutes Dialer
    FairTale Dialer


    I recently added IE Spyad. I use Spybot S&D 1.3.1 TX as well as AdawareSE. This is the first time I've ever encountered this, and I've used SWB for 6 months.

    Many thanks for your efforts.
     
  2. peebs

    peebs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1
    I've got the same problem (same SWB version and update), except more extreme. I've got 1268 IE Active-X protections that won't enable.

    I've even uninstalled and reinstalled SWB.

    If you hear of a correction/workaround, please let me know.

    Thanks,
     
  3. tetonbob

    tetonbob Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    94
    Bump

    Anyone?
     
  4. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  5. tetonbob

    tetonbob Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    94
    Thanks for the reply, Snowbound.

    I've tried reenabling the protection for the items in question with no success. I also tried TheQuest's suggested course of action with no success. The same items show in SpywareBlaster as protection disabled.

    Do I understand that these are redundant entries, and I should just ignore it, or is there something further I should try to get the protection enabled for these items in SWB?
     
  6. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    The problem could be as FanJ described, with IE SpyAd in that link i posted.




    snowbound
     
  7. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Correct me if I'm wrong Bob....but those entries are all associated with SpywareBlasters(SB) Internet Explorer protection(ActiveX clsids) and none appear to be listed in SB's Cookie or Restricted Sites protection....which should eliminate IE-Spyad.

    Also....since the SB's ActiveX entries are written to the Local_Machine registry key....is this happening while as a Limited user or Admin user....assuming your OS is of the NT family ?
     
  8. AL Inferno

    AL Inferno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    in a locked facility, but its ok
    I had the same prob, I did not understand that under Domains all that crap was actually there to protect the puter from that spyware and whatever. I kept deleting and it kept recurring. Once in a while it comes up but I inow what it is so I just do nothing or I click ignore on whichever spyware scanner I am using at that time (i have 5) and I use the freeware versions. thank you, AL Inferno
     
  9. tetonbob

    tetonbob Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    94
    Hi Bubba-

    All the entries are ActiveX associated with IE, which I don't use often at all. I use Firefox. This occurs as a limited user, which is the acount I use when browsing. I'll check to see if it occurs as Admin.

    WindowsXP Pro is my OS.

    Snowbound, maybe I'm being a little thick here - I read the suggested post, and read through Howes' file, before I installed IE Spyad and again since the trouble. I don't see a resolution offered other than re-enabling the protections affected, which I have tried with no success.

    Thanks to all for your replies.
     
  10. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    It was my error. I see now and as Bubba said if it is ActiveX entries, IE SpyAd would be ruled out.


    snowbound
     
  11. tetonbob

    tetonbob Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    94
    OK, I got it sorted out. What I did was uninstall IE Spyad, update SB through my admin account, apply all protection, reinstall IE Spyad. All is well. Not sure why it didn't work the first time I tried, but there you have it. Computers. :rolleyes:

    Thanks for your assistance. All who offer free help (not to mention free apps) to end users are saints in my book. :D :cool:

    Are SB's updates applied globally, or to the local user only? Does this depend on which account the updating is done through? Thanks for helping One Who Wants to Learn.

    Bob
     
  12. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Internet Explorer protection(ActiveX and Cookie)....apply protection globally(Local_Machine)....IF the user has Admin rights. The Restricted Sites protection applies protection for the Current_User....meaning each user needs to sign into their respective accounts to apply the Restricted Sites protection.


    Also....since you were speaking about the ActiveX protection....whether you had re-installed IE-Spyad or not should not have made a difference. The succesful results should have been because you were able to apply the ActiveX protection....which is global(Local_Machine)....while signed on with Admin rights.
     
  13. tetonbob

    tetonbob Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    94
    Thanks, Bubba. That makes sense. I live and learn.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.