Protecting my laptop, opinions please

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by cba321, Jan 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cba321

cba321 Registered Member

After seeing my family computer essentially rendered useless due to hackers, lots of malware, and possibly one real nasty keylogger, I have opened my eyes to the need for security. I want to take the lessons of my family computer and apply them to my college laptop.

My personal laptop right now is set up like this:

Windows Vista home premium, use IE as a browser

- Windows Vista Firewall
    - Trend Micro Antivirus
    - Spy Sweeper (with real time protection)
    - Malwarebytes (free)
    - A-squared free
    - ccleaner

Could anyone recommend anything else (preferably free, I'm a college student on a tight budget) to help me protect my computer? I probably need a different firewall, and I am thinking maybe keyscrambler and hijackthis too? All suggestions are welcome.

Thanks in advance for the help. I'll base the future protection I put on my new family computer on what is on my laptop.

Last edited: Jan 25, 2009
  2. BlueZannetti

BlueZannetti Registered Member

cba321,

It would help to know (or guess) how the keylogger was installed. That really controls a lot of how one approaches things. A lot of things have to happen to get infected with malware, but the primary thing is that something needs to execute. I'm ignoring script based approaches to harvest information.
    Vista and UAC adds a lot here with respect to the execute end of things. You actually get a decent bump in security as long as you don't disable UAC (I know, it's a bother if you do a lot of installing and changing of software) or use LUA/SuRun on XP.